TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Questions about lack of fuses on Model 3

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by EGuzzler, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. EGuzzler

    EGuzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The word fuse does not show up in the owners manual. I've read online that the Model 3 uses solid state fuses which has piqued my interest but a quick google search reveals little information. I have a few curious questions for those in the know:

    1. How exactly do these solid state fuses in the Model 3 work?
      1. what happens when I draw too much current in a particular circuit?
    2. Do other modern cars have solid state fuses or is is the Model 3 the first?
    3. What are the advantages and disadvantages of solid state fuses?
    4. Any more information about solid state fuses not covered by my questions would be welcomed.
     
    • Like x 1
  2. m3snowy

    m3snowy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    cloud
    Some info here:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/teslamotors/comments/7y3t8v/model_3_teardown_videos_youtube/
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 2
  3. eli_

    eli_ Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Basically there's a box near the front of the car where the body controller is, and there are a bunch of MOSFETs that switch various 12v circuits, if you draw too much current it will just switch the circuit off and try to reset it. For example, if you plug in something that draws too much current on the 12v accessory connector, you'll get an alert on the center screen to stop doing that.

    Also the current monitoring lets them be smarter and get away with smaller wires. For example, on the front doors you have heaters and various motors for the side mirrors, as well as window motors. Instead of using a higher gauge wire to power everything at once, you could temporarily disable the heaters while the window motor is being used to stay within current limits. Not saying Model 3 does that, but it's one example of what's possible.
     
    • Informative x 1
  4. lunitiks

    lunitiks ˭ ˭ ʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽ ʭ ʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼ ˭ ˭

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,379
    Location:
    Prawn Island, VC
    Also the main «e-fuse» that came with hw2.5 should let Tesla disable your car remotely
     
  5. mister yub

    mister yub Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    It's worth noting that if you short a fused line (such as if you cut the 12V cigarette lighter line in one cut :oops:), it'll re-energize in a few hours at most.
     
  6. EGuzzler

    EGuzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's interesting, is this a known capability that Tesla has or is this speculation?
     
  7. EGuzzler

    EGuzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I like that! You'd get specific information on the fault. Much better than trying to find the fuse box and then trying to figure out which fuse it was. One time I blew a fuse on my Chevy Volt, I didn't realize it at the time but the car had 2 fuses boxes. Of course once I found the first fuse box it took me way longer than I'd care to admit to find the second.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC