Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Questions about tracking the car (road course)

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
1. Will using the heater help delay the powertrain from overheating and limiting power? Using ICE logic here: taking the heat from the engine and dumping it into the cabin... not sure if this applies to the Tesla. (Assuming 60-70deg temps)

2. I understand the high energy use on track (1000+ Wh/mi) produces an artificially low 'rated range' (31 miles left problem)... but is there a way to determine how many easy freeway miles are still left on the battery. I need to leave the track with at least 20 miles left to get to the closest charger. Can I use "Total Energy Since Last Charge" somehow?

3. TC on or off? I have a lot of track experience, but this is my first time tracking the Tesla and first time at this track.

2. I understand the high energy use on track (1000+ Wh/mi) produces an artificially low 'rated range' (31 miles left problem)...
Terminology adjustment: Projected, not rated.

- - - Updated - - -

but is there a way to determine how many easy freeway miles are still left on the battery. I need to leave the track with at least 20 miles left to get to the closest charger.
The rated range will display using the normal EPA constant.

So, for example, suppose you start with 200 rated miles. At the track you burn it at 4x the rated rate, say ~1200 Wh/mi, for 20 miles of distance. Instead of having 180 (200-20) rated miles at the end of track activity, you'll have ~120 rated miles (200-20x4).

Your "projected" chart on the Energy app will likely show something like ~30 rated miles if you put it on the "last 15 miles" and "Average" settings. If you use "last 30 miles" it will likely be higher than that because 1/3rd of the X axis (30-20) will be "before track" driving.

Make sense?

- - - Updated - - -