TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Questions from a brand new Model S owner

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by wayner, Jan 6, 2015.

1. wayner

wayner Active Member

I just picked up my P85D tonight - wow! A few questions on the UI:

For my phone contacts the photos don't show up, just a silhouette. How do I fix that?
    When I plug in my iPod to the USB port nothing shows up. Can you not play music over the USB port? If not are the USB ports just for power? That's kind of a waste.
    I have the UHF sound which is supposed to have XM radio - how do I access XM? I have a subscription from my
    If I want to upgrade to a fuller Premium Slacker account then where do I enter the Slacker credentials?
    Is there a guide to what does and doesn't work for web pages in the browser? Can I use the web page to control Plex content and cast it to other plex players either over the internet or over the LAN (assuming a Wifi hotspot in the car and all devices connected via the hotspot). I assume you can't use web pages with video.

2. Vitaman

Vitaman Member

Some of your questions are beyond me also a Firstie.
    I can say that the car will not support Premium Slacker.
    The less than premium but more than basic account is all it can do.
    And, you must call XM to get them to activate the radio. We have a free trial subscription for an undetermined amount of time (at least the folks at XM were clueless as to the exact duration).
    I am sure folks will chime in on your other queries.

3. Firewired

Firewired Member

Weird, mine came without the trial subscription for XM. I believe if you have a personal Slacker premium account you can put that login information in the car and your playlists will show up.

4. mknox

mknox Well-Known Member