Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Radar detector mirror tap

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Recently I wanted to hardwire my radar detector to the rearview mirror in my 2017 Tesla Model S . But I could not find any decent pictures or description on how to DIY(Most descriptions were for dashcam which require constant power unlike radar detector). I have no experience with car electronics but was able to do it myself. Decided to post some pics so others can benefit.

Attachments

• IMG_2498.jpg
    IMG_2498.jpg
    436.4 KB · Views: 1,434
  • IMG_2494.jpg
    IMG_2494.jpg
    230.7 KB · Views: 1,281
  • IMG_2497.jpg
    IMG_2497.jpg
    217.3 KB · Views: 1,265
  • IMG_2502.jpg
    IMG_2502.jpg
    244 KB · Views: 1,248
@whitex Looks like folks have used the port in microphone grill for mainly dashcam. I believe it provides constant power but I want the radar detector to turn off when the vehicle is parked.
Yes, that is a constant 12V. Not sure how much power the mirror power can provide or how much power your detector requires. If too much, you could blow a fuse or potentially brown out the AP cameras. At least make sure which fuse it's on, in case it blows.

12V cig lighter is switched 12V, can be tapped that under the big screen near the floor last I did it.

Reactions: logan
I used the constant 12v source referenced in the picture. My radar detector (passport 9500ix) has a feature to power itself off after 3-4 hours of no movement. If yours has a similar feature it’s the best of both worlds.

Prash,

make sure you add an inline fuse between the power source that you use and the Uniden R3 detector.

suggest you also get this $8.30 low profile windshield mount sold on Ebay only it will allow the R3 to be above the mirror. (see pic) I do not know why the silicone glue in my pic appears white, when it is clear showing the black metal in the daylight.