TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Radar detector mirror tap

Discussion in 'Model S' started by prash, May 21, 2018.

1. prash

prash Member

Recently I wanted to hardwire my radar detector to the rearview mirror in my 2017 Tesla Model S . But I could not find any decent pictures or description on how to DIY(Most descriptions were for dashcam which require constant power unlike radar detector). I have no experience with car electronics but was able to do it myself. Decided to post some pics so others can benefit.

Attached Files:

• Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  2. whitex

whitex Active Member

Why not use the unused (in US models) vehicle alarm connector in the microphone grill?

3. prash

prash Member

Any pics on where its located? As I said I have no idea about car electronics. I just turned lucky this time!

4. prash

prash Member

@whitex Looks like folks have used the port in microphone grill for mainly dashcam. I believe it provides constant power but I want the radar detector to turn off when the vehicle is parked.

• Like x 1
  5. whitex

whitex Active Member

Inside microphone grill. Sometimes tucked and taped a little bit on under the roof lining (easily accessible without any tools though).
    tesla-mic-grill.jpg

6. whitex

whitex Active Member

Yes, that is a constant 12V. Not sure how much power the mirror power can provide or how much power your detector requires. If too much, you could blow a fuse or potentially brown out the AP cameras. At least make sure which fuse it's on, in case it blows.

12V cig lighter is switched 12V, can be tapped that under the big screen near the floor last I did it.

• Like x 1
  7. kmob07

kmob07 Member