TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Radar detectors

Discussion in 'Model 3: Interior & Exterior' started by togliat, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. khoon

    khoon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Clearly, Mr X has some strong opinions that he's glad to share with others - unsolicited. Well, for the record, I'm not a "wannabe douche racer" and neither am I an opinionated jerk - I just don't appreciate speeding tickets.
     
  2. zoiks66

    zoiks66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    I received the Model 3 Blendmount yesterday and have an appointment in about 3 weeks to have an installer hard wire my Escort Passport Max radar detector to the switched 12v available near the driver’s footwell.
     
  3. khoon

    khoon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Zoiks - all the best. If you're in NJ I can recommend a great installer. I had mine hardwired and they did a great job. Had to wire it directly to the battery with a relay that ensures the unit only turns on when the car is powered up.
     
  4. favo

    favo P3D+ owner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Anyone have a hidden radar detector in the 3? Something like the Escort MAX Ci. Also, has anyone done laser shifters? If so, where did you mount them?
     
  5. Johnabis

    Johnabis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Pottstown
    Did you get this done yet? I should be getting my 3 in a few weeks and I also plan on getting a blend mount. Also i guess tapping into the rear view mirror power is not an option?
     
  6. zoiks66

    zoiks66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    I had the BlendMount installed with my Escort radar detector today, and it looks and works great. Here is a picture I took. You can’t tap into the mirror for switched 12v power. The installer tapped into switched 12v in the area near the dead pedal in the driver’s area under the dash. This way my radar detector auto powers on when the car wakes up and auto powers off when the car goes to sleep.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like x 2
  7. Psyops

    Psyops New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks for the info. Looks like a good install. Where in NJ do you recommend?
     
  8. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 Porsche 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I was a long-term Valentine-1 Radar detector user and gave up with the new windshield coating issues.
    The V-1 will work but will be severely limited in range even with the windshield on the newer Model S/X/3.

    The best solution is to use the Waze Telsa app for real-time traffic accident and enforcement information.
    Check out the Waze app on your main screen browser and you will never go back to a radar detector... :cool:

    Tesla Traffic Incidents and Information

    upload_2018-10-18_19-50-29.png
     
  9. torch0395

    torch0395 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    New York
    You could have totally done it yourself. I found a few YouTube videos on how guys ran wires and which wires to tap. It really was an easy setup.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Johnabis

    Johnabis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Pottstown
    which videos specifically? could you post the link ?
     
  11. torch0395

    torch0395 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    New York
    Here is how I found out where to hide the wire.


    Here is how I found out which power source to tap into.


    Let me know if you have any other questions.
     
  12. Johnabis

    Johnabis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Pottstown
    Thanks for sharing. I also found a different video. is this the same location this guy is talking about? if so doesn't look like I need to tap a wire. let me know what you think. and thanks again for your post. it helped alot

     
  13. torch0395

    torch0395 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    New York
    I’m not an expert whatsoever, I have experience with wires in general and found those videos and got it done. But that video you posted looks like a completely different location. By the way, tapping the wire is nothing. I did it with the one of the quick splice clips.
     
  14. Edison

    Edison Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    san francisco CA
    $400 to Valentine once beats $400 every six months to State Farm (plus the revenue fees for the citations)
     
    • Like x 1
  15. UltralightBeam

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Any pics of your install/mount? Looking for an easy way to do this...

    I just wish my browser would actually work once in awhile. It’s 90% stuck on a white screen unless I reboot the system each time before I go into drive...
     
  16. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 Porsche 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    After you reboot, try deleting some of your stored locations on the Navigation screen.
     
  17. UltralightBeam

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Stored locations as in previously visited places or the Home/Work locations? I'll give it a shot later but that sounds so random that locations in nav would directly affect if the web browser works or not...
     
  18. Johnabis

    Johnabis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Pottstown
    Is that the max 360? How are false alerts? I'm debating between that and the radenso pro m. I'll be buying new either way
     
  19. khoon

    khoon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Psyops, sorry been away for a bit and just saw your post. Perhaps too late now, but I had mine installed at Extreme Mobile Sounds in Paramus NJ. Really good guys and they did a great job.
     
  20. Psyops

    Psyops New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks! Haven’t installed it yet, appreciate the rec.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC