TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Range mode is "sticky"

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by ggr, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. ggr

    ggr Roadster R80 537, SigS P85 29

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,472
    Yesterday I charged in Range mode, drove around, came home, and plugged it in. I assumed that, like the Roadster, it would reset to standard mode. But it didn't! It charged again in range mode. I'm pretty sure the only other time I charged in range mode, it did reset itself. The only thing I think I did differently this time was that while I was still in the car, I popped both the trunk and the charge port door. When I just went to turn off range mode, there was a pop-up warning me about too much use of range mode, and did I want to switch back to standard, but this was *after* it was done charging!

    Weird corner conditions in the software, I guess.
     
  2. Lloyd

    Lloyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    The Rav4 EV does this also. I think it is a mistake!!
     
  3. Charged_Up

    Charged_Up Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    funny, I just discovered this error today as well - range charged yesterday in Model S, came back and plugged it in assuming it would revert to standard, but it didn't. Should be an easy fix.
     
  4. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    Yes, range mode in the R resets automatically, and in the S, it is sticky. I agree, I prefer the auto reset method in the R.
     
  5. cinergi

    cinergi Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,169
    Location:
    MA
    Yes, it's sticky. I did ask ownership about that... but in the meantime, I noticed if you do it ~3+ times in a row, you'll get a message on the screen reminding you you're in range mode and asks if you want to shut it off.
     

Share This Page