Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Rapid tire wear

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello friends,

My 2022 model 3 LFP has an odometer of 2166 miles (most in-town & a bit mountainous driving). Last week, I went for a service visit and they assessed the tire depths and below are the results. I am a normal driver and seldom punched the pedal. First, I thought the rapid wear was due to wheel misalignment, but all tires worn out evenly. So I wonder what are your thoughts on it? Thank you!

Check tire pressure and condition
Tread Depth Measure Type
32nds
Tread depth
Front Driver Outer: 7
Front Driver Middle: 7
Front Driver Inner: 7
Front Passenger Outer: 7
Front Passenger Middle: 7
Front Passenger Inner: 7
Back Driver Outer: 6
Back Driver Middle: 6
Back Driver Inner: 6
Back Passenger Outer: 6
Back Passenger Middle: 6
Back Passenger Inner: 6
Tire replacement recommended
No
Tire rotation recommended
No

• Funny
Reactions: Sam1 and lUtriaNt
Don’t quote me on this, but I believe the OEM Michelins start with 8/32 tread, even if the retail tire starts with 10/32 tread depth.
According to https://www.tirerack.com/tires/Spec.jsp?tireMake=Michelin&tireModel=Primacy+MXM4 , the T1 version of 235/45/18 with 98 load rating has 8/32" tread.

Still, using up 1/32" to 2/32" in 2,166 miles means that you may get about 4,332 to 8,664 miles before the tires get to 4/32" (somewhat riskier in wet conditions) and 6,498 to 12,996 miles before the tires get to 2/32" (legal minimum). That is quite rapid tire wear for a "grand touring" tire.

Or it could just be measurement error.

Reactions: Lindenwood
Upvote 0
According to https://www.tirerack.com/tires/Spec.jsp?tireMake=Michelin&tireModel=Primacy+MXM4 , the T1 version of 235/45/18 with 98 load rating has 8/32" tread.