TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Rated Charge

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by napabill, Mar 9, 2013.

1. napabill

napabill Active Member

I've been charging my Tess for over 3 months using 14-50, 110v, Superchargers, and most recently, 14-30. I have consistently gotten a rated charge of 240-241 rated miles, fully charged. Always. Then, this morning, I check and it shows 244, and is fully charged. Why the change? I used the 14-30 plug, and it charged from about 40 rated miles, overnight.:confused:

2. Doug_G

Doug_G Lead Moderator

"Mileage may vary".

Since there is a moderate amount of "vampire load" with the current lack of sleep mode, it matters when the car stops charging. If it is recently finished you'll get a higher number. If it sits for 12 hours it'll show a lower number.

The Model S actually seems to be much more consistent than the Roadster. Immediately after a Standard Mode charge it consistently shows 383 or 384 km. The range showing on my Roadster after a charge varies much more.

3. napabill

napabill Active Member

"Mileage my vary." Ya but...same car, same charge timing, for over 3 months. Never had a standard charge of more than 241. And I understand the vampire load but that has always been the case. We'll see if I now have have a new standard charge level next time I fill'er up.

4. brianman

brianman Burrito Founder

@napabill
    $1 says the ambient temperature and/or "time since charge completed" was different (higher, less) last night than for your habit.

I see 232 about 80% of the time. Sometimes I see 235, sometimes 228. I've seen as high as 242. No range charges (so far?).

5. Cliff Hannel

Cliff Hannel Member