TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Reboot Your Model S

Discussion in 'Video' started by B.TSLA, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. B.TSLA

    B.TSLA Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    B.DOT
    #1 B.TSLA, Nov 12, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2016
    Here's how you reboot the MS in 20 Seconds or Less
     
  2. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,552
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I've never yet had to re-boot the dash display, although I did try it once.

    I do have to re-boot the 17" display fairly regularly... usually to get Slacker radio working again. One thing with the 17" re-boot is that the system comes up fairly quickly, but it can take 10 to 15 minutes for the 3G connection to come back. This is in a 4 or 5 bar reception area too. Everything will be working, but the signal strength indicator will be flicking from 0 bars to 5 bars and back again for some time, until it finally settles in at 4 or 5 bars and then the 3G indicator will come back on. What's with that?
     
  3. B.TSLA

    B.TSLA Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    B.DOT
    Thanks for the Heads up! I get my MS on December 3rd and my wife will be driving it back and forth from the Suburbs to Toronto so I need to make sure she's prepared for these things.
    Picked up a P85+ as a daily driver.
    I'll be lucky to get to drive this in the evenings and weekends.
     
  4. O2_Quik

    O2_Quik Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Toronto
    Wow... I'm at 6,500 Kim's problem free and I've never had to reboot anything. Maybe I'm just lucky...
     
  5. Lump

    Lump Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,099
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    While driving the other day my touchscreen frooze & rebooted on its own :scared:

    I was a couple of blocks from home so I called & reported the issue, they were going to look at my logs & contact me if they found anything serious.
     
  6. Btrflyl8e

    Btrflyl8e Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Seminole, Florida, United States
    I have over 8,000 miles since May and have never had to reboot. I did it the other day to get the time to update sooner, and just to do it!
     
  7. caddieo

    caddieo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    I got a "Traction Control Disabled" message in the dash the other day. Called the SC and they told me to reboot. Problem solved.
     
  8. GDH

    GDH Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    How do you reboot the 17" screen?
     
  9. Btrflyl8e

    Btrflyl8e Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Seminole, Florida, United States
    Press and hold both scroll wheels on the steering wheel
     
  10. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,552
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Had to re-boot the 17" again this morning. Last time was yesterday. It seems to be something to do with the 3G connection. Slacker will stop and maps stop loading. Again, it took over 10 minutes for the 3G to come back and for Slacker and Maps to come back. Everything else is back up fairly quickly. I don't know if this is unusual or not.
     
  11. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    It's normal - in my experience the 3G always takes a long time to come back up.
     
  12. Jgdixon

    Jgdixon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    Burlington, Ontario, Canada
    FYI I have rebooted both screens while driving without any problems
     
  13. qwk

    qwk Model S P2681

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,817
    How was the current firmware you have loaded to the car? OTA? I have noticed that OTA updates have weird quirks(like 3G taking forever to come back), while SC laptop updates are flawless.
     
  14. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,552
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Well, I'm still on 4.5. All of my updates have been OTA, but I wonder what the difference could be between getting it OTA or at the SC by some sort of direct connection (I presume).
     
  15. qwk

    qwk Model S P2681

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,817
    Incomplete downloads. Next time you are at a SC, have them update the firmware. Can't hurt.
     
  16. zax123

    zax123 CDN Model S P308

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Candiac, QC, CAN
    I've had to do the same and yup, it takes a long while to get 3G back. Annoying!

    I'm hoping they release a 4G module soon and it'll fix these weird issues.
     
  17. Mayhemm

    Mayhemm Model S P85+ "Lola"

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,939
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Look on the bright side, soon™ you'll have FW5.6 and you can just tether your phone in to get around the crappy 3G radio in the car...

    Soon © Telsa Motors 2012
     
  18. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,552
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Actually, the 3G has worked reasonably well for me. The maps load fine and Slacker plays great. Besides, I'm still using an iPhone 4 which only has 3G anyway!

    I should probably know this, but is the tethering WiFi only, USB only or both WiFi and USB? I've found with my PC, USB tethering is a lot more reliable than WiFi or Bluetooth.
     
  19. Mayhemm

    Mayhemm Model S P85+ "Lola"

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,939
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    #19 Mayhemm, Nov 17, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2013
    Tethering typically refers to using a cell phone as a high-speed modem for a PC, connected by a USB cable.

    Newer cell phones can also create a WiFi hotspot, which is a wireless network other devices such as computers, phones, tablets, and the Model S (with FW 5.6) can connect to. It works just like a home network but it is generated by your mobile phone rather than a home router or access point. The speed of the network is determined by the mobile network accessed by the phone.

    The term Tethering can refer to either USB tethering or WiFi hotspot generation. I know the Model S can access a 4G LTE hotspot because I tested this with my phone during my recent test drive of a FW 5.6 car. Not sure about USB tethering though. Fortunately, I find the hotspot solution easier to setup with my phone anyway.

    Both of these methods would allow the Model S access to the benefits of 4G LTE networks without changes the the car's internal hardware.

    Did that help at all?
     

Share This Page