TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Rebooting after doing an update

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Merrill, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,097
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Just wondering how everyone does a reboot after an upgrade to the firmware. I have been holding down the two scroll wheels until the 17 inch screen goes dark, is this the best way or do you hold down until both screens go dark.
     
  2. Nevek

    Nevek Overt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Seattle
    After I had a problem with the suspension height, a Service Advisor told me the best way to do a reboot was to hold the two wheels until the "T" appeared in the 17" screen.

    I had been only holding them until the main screen went blank, but it took the longer press to reset my suspension error. I now always use the longer hold when resetting.
     
  3. garygid

    garygid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange County, CA
    Does continuing to press down both scroll wheels after the 17" touchscreen goes black
    eventually cause the dashboard screen to reboot (go black) also?

    If so, is this a "stronger" or more complete reboot than just rebooting both screens separately?

    What is the strongest reboot that is available to us?
     
  4. JPP

    JPP Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    SF Bay area, CA
    I always do a reboot, separately both the instrument panel and MCU (...yes, supposedly redundant...) after a firmware update. Then of course check to see what presets got bashed, and also log back into internet radio.
     
  5. jdw

    jdw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    As far as I've heard the most complete reboot process is to put the car in park, keep the brake pedal depressed while holding the scroll wheels until the T shows up.

    Could be wishful thinking on someones part ...
     
  6. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,763
    Location:
    Texas
    I tried that, but gave up after pressing the brake for over five minutes. Had to open the door, get out, shut the door, get back in to get it to come up. This forever rebooting only started in the last couple of 6.9 upgrades.
     
  7. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,787
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    No. To reboot the dashboard to hold down the buttons above both scroll wheels. If you do both this and reboot the 17" with the scroll wheels, (separately) then both screens are rebooted.
     
  8. LetsGoFast

    LetsGoFast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Virginia
    I had a problem with my radar sensor and Tesla's 800 number asked me to reboot whilst holding down the brake pedal, saying that was somehow a deeper reboot than the standard scroll wheel trick. Didn't fix the sensors, however.
     
  9. rjcbox

    rjcbox Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    4 months and never rebooted after update. Are we supposed to? I just assumed the 2 hrs updates included a reboot, like typical computer software
     
  10. LetsGoFast

    LetsGoFast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,342
    Location:
    Virginia
    It does reboot as part of the install. I've never needed to reboot again for an update, although I do reboot annoyingly often to force podcast lists to update. Other people have reported that they need to do so for various reasons.
     
  11. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,763
    Location:
    Texas
    This one ^^^ Most of my reboots are now to fix LTE because it doesn't come back when traveling from an area of poor reception to an area of good reception.
     
  12. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,788
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Yup. Of course it reboots after a firmware update, and likely a full/"deep" reboot of all updated/affected systems as well. There's no other way to be running the new firmware. Unless there's some other specific issue, I don't see a need to do an additional reboot after a FW update just because it was updated.
     
  13. boonedocks

    boonedocks Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Gainesville, GA
    @LetsGoFast I found a trick that might work for you. I use podcasts under favorites in the Tunein app. If that is how you are doing it as well then slimply go to the controls/settings/apps and simply click "logout" and then "login" on the Tunein app. Takes just a couple of seconds and your updated podcast updates are ready for listening!!
     

Share This Page