Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Reduced charging rate

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

pdk42

Jul 17, 2019
Leamington
My car has started reducing the charge rate on AC charging. It starts fine at 32A but after a little time (usually 5-10 mins), it drops back to 12A and stays there. I can see from the app that the charger is still advertising 32A (i.e. it displays 12/32). If I look at the car’s screen after the drop has happened, I can see this:

121A3C32-7130-4CA0-BFCA-A2CB5E2A10D8.jpeg

It’s obvious that the car thinks there’s a voltage drop, but I’ve swapped cables with no change in behaviour and have also charged another EV (ID3) on the same charge point and it works without issue. The supply here does show a decent voltage drop when pulling a lot of power (typically 240V down to 222V) but I’ve been charging for almost 18 months without significant problems (although I often see short periods of reduced rate overnight, but it’s usually down to 24A and for a short period only).

Ideas?

Interesting - I had that for the first time the other day. I had assumed there had been a real voltage drop but perhaps not. I also have typically 220V when there is other demand and the car is charging. That is not unusual so either the voltage dropped below that for real or perhaps the sensitivity has changed in recent firmware. Stopping and restarting the charge from my phone brought it back to 32A and it stayed there after that.

Reactions: Adopado