TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Regenerative braking, do the brake lights turn on?

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by PoitNarf, Apr 2, 2018.

1. PoitNarf

PoitNarf My dog's breath smells like dog food

I know that this is a stupid question, but do the brake lights turn on during regenerative braking? I’m completely new to EVs and have my Model 3 set to the standard setting for regen. It’s stronger than I was expecting so I’m hoping that the driver behind me does get some visual queue that I’m doing some kind of braking, especially when the regen drops the speed pretty quickly.

• Like x 1
  2. Skidmark

Skidmark Member

Yes, they do. You can see the lights in the diagram of the car on the screen when they light up.

• Helpful x 3
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  3. PoitNarf

I’ll have to look for that on my next drive. Had no idea they lit up on the graphical Model 3 on the screen!

4. SigNC

SigNC Active Member

Exactly, it's a certain threshold of regen that they kick on. Aka light regen won't do it but heavier will.

• Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  5. thegruf

thegruf Active Member

they illumiate based on rate of deceleration. THe instrument cluster shows when they are on.
    Use the brake pedal to override if you want to be sure to indicate to following traffic that you are gently slowing

• Informative x 2
  6. Skidmark

Skidmark Member

Here's what it looks like on my car - it could be a lot harder to see if your car is red.
    [​IMG]

• Informative x 5
    • Helpful x 1
  7. Unbeliever

Unbeliever Member

They'll also light up in brake hold mode, whether or not you have creep turned on or off.

--Carlos V.

• Helpful x 1
  8. novox77

novox77 1.21 Gigawatts