TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Removing gen 2 hpwc

Discussion in 'Supercharging & Charging Infrastructure' started by bmms8, Sep 16, 2020.

  1. bmms8

    bmms8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    CA
    I’m thinking of relocating my gen 2 hpwc to a different residence. Can my electrician simply change current setup over to a nema 1450?
     
  2. Watts_Up

    Watts_Up Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    In a galaxy far, far away
    #2 Watts_Up, Sep 16, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2020
    It depend if the Neutral was installed.

    If there is no Neutral, may be just replace the Powerwall with a connection box to protect the wires.

    To have a legal NEMA 14 50 require adding a Neutral, and may be a new 50 A circuit breaker.

    Adding a new wire in a conduit is not easy, unless it is very short with not too many curves.

    So it would be simpler to put connection box and put back a new Powerwall when needed.
     
  3. bmms8

    bmms8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    CA
    Thank you for the insight!

    I will have to confirm if a ground is there.
     
  4. jmaddr

    jmaddr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Messages:
    716
    Location:
    Florida
    If it doesn't have a neutral (they both need ground) you could put in a 6-50 instead. The 6-50 does not require a neutral wire.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  5. bmms8

    bmms8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    CA
    sorry neutral *
    Thanks folks!
     
  6. arcus

    arcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Also, depending on your current braker, make sure to adjust the settings inside HPWC to match the new setup (in case it is different amperage).
     
  7. Rocky_H

    Rocky_H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,114
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    @bmms8 You're asking if you can put in a 14-50, but have never once mentioned how many amps your circuit is for you wall connector, so it's impossible for any of us to answer that question yet.

    The answer is certainly "yes" for the more generic question of "Can I replace my wall connector with an outlet?" Always. But these questions of what kind of wire and circuit breaker will have to determine which kind of outlet. So more information please? What's the breaker and wire gauge/type in this?
     
  8. bmms8

    bmms8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    CA
    Thanks for the feedback guys!

    It’s a 60 amp breaker with 6 gauge wiring.

    if no neutral I’ll do the 6-50. It was a lot of labor as the panel is 150 ft from hpwc
     
  9. mociaf9

    mociaf9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    2,114
    Location:
    CA
    Then you'll also need to change the breaker to a 50A one.
     
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC