Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Replace back tires -> Never need to rotate tires?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
After driving 26k miles without rotating my stock MXV4 tires, my back and front tires had 1/8" and 5.5/8" tread depth remaining, respectively.

So it appears that the back tires on the M3 wear out twice as quickly as the front tires. In that case, can you simply replace the back tires (with the same model type of course)?

After replacing just the back tires, the front tires will still be at 5.5/8" depth and the back tires will be at a full 8/8" depth. Then keep driving without rotating tires. Now, both the front and rear tires should reach 2/8" around the same time. At this this point, simply replace all 4 tires.

What do you all think about this approach? (Excuse me - I'm not a mechanical engineer by training ;) )

This is a sane course of action but has nothing to do with which wore out first, or RWD or dual-motor, or even because it’s a Tesla.

When replacing a pair of tires, always always always put the new pair on the rear. Always.

This is because the more-worn tires are more susceptible to hydroplaning. Hydroplaning in the front, and not the rear, will cause an understeer condition. The car will track straight ahead.
The reverse - hydroplaning in the rear and not the front - causes oversteer, and hence, a spin out is likely.
Understeer when hydroplaning is much much easier to control. Just track straight ahead and slow down. Oversteer is worlds more difficult.