TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Reset Maintance Service

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by Clif, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. Clif

    Clif Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    East Canton Ohio
    How can I reset "Maintance Service" on my roadster? It comes on everytime I turn on the key. Yes I can delete it. I just want to reset it without going to dealer.
     
  2. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,537
    Location:
    Vermont
    You don't have to worry about going to a dealer. There aren't any. If you go to a Tesla service center they would probably do it for free. If you don't want to do that, I'm pretty sure most of the roadster owners in OH know how to reset it.
     
  3. Clif

    Clif Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    East Canton Ohio
    Yes you are correct. I have reset it now by private EMAIL. I only have 7400 miles and it came on because I was over 12 months.
     
  4. gwagen27

    gwagen27 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Southern California
    Out of curiosity, how did you reset it?
     
  5. Chillout

    Chillout Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    It can be done through the Service Diagonistics menu.
     
  6. Clif

    Clif Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    East Canton Ohio
    Thank you. Now what is Tesla's "secret' to programing my key fob?
     
  7. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    On the Roadster I am not aware of any programming. I think they sell two keys and a receiver as a package.
     
  8. Clif

    Clif Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    East Canton Ohio
    Yes it can be done. I purchased a new key , had it cut at local hardware. Tesla wants me to drive 2 hours {one way} to do the programing!!! Does Elon know this? TESLA just give me the code please.
     
  9. supersnoop

    supersnoop Tesla Roadster #334

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Pflugerville
    What makes you think there's a code? On most cars, a virgin key (never programmed to a car) has to be burned in with the car's code, not the other way around. This requires specialized equipment that plugs into the car and a loop antenna that sends a signal to the key. On my BMW, it requires a $3 chip soldered to the key's circuit board, plus about $2,000 worth of equipment to program the key. If there was a simple code, every one of our cars would be stolen overnight.
     
  10. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Oh yes they can reprogram it, but it's a crazy procedure. You have to do oddball things like opening and closing the door and turning the key in a particular sequence to trigger it. Then the LED in the glove compartment starts blinking, and you have to count the blinks and turn the key when it hits the right number. You have to do that repeatedly until you've entered the entire number code of the key fob. Then it is synchronized. I've seen a Ranger do the procedure, and it's so complicated he had to try a couple of times to get it to work.
     
  11. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,800
    Location:
    California
    I read a story about some thieves who built a box to program BMW keys and used it to steal the cars. I think there's a YouTube video demo.
     
  12. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Where is said LED on a 1.5 with no glove compartment?
     
  13. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Like many things, it's probably different in the 1.5. I have no idea, having only witnessed the reprogramming of a 2.0.
     
  14. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,800
    Location:
    California
  15. Roadster #398

    Roadster #398 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi Chillout. I cant find the Service Diagnostics in my menu, can you tell me how to get there
     
  16. tvuolo

    tvuolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Colorado
    Can someone tell me where in the diagnostics menu I would reset the service interval? I poked around for a minute, but didn't see anything obvious and didn't want to reset the wrong thing. I guess Tesla didn't reset mine when they did my service last spring.
     
  17. Stefan T

    Stefan T Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Sweden
    Under Controls menu
     

Share This Page