TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Reset TPM for a new set of summer tires

Discussion in 'Model X' started by WayneMa, Apr 8, 2017.

Tags:
  1. WayneMa

    WayneMa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Alabama
    Does anyone know how to add a new set of rims/tires to a Model X without having to visit the service center? I just bought a extra set of 22" wheels with new tire pressure monitors for summer driving. I live about 200 miles from service center and do not want to have to drive that far just to add new wheels. I know there used to be a TPM RESET button. But it looks like Tesla remove that from the screen.
     
  2. bikeandsail

    bikeandsail Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    United States, NE Ohio
    I just drove after installing my summer tires and the TPMS worked fine.
     
  3. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,501
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I thought these auto reset after a number of miles but I just checked the manual and it says they need to be 'reset' by the SC. Not sure what happened if you swap out tires like the other poster. Seems excessive to go to a SC twice a year for that!
     
  4. WayneMa

    WayneMa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Alabama
    I am assuming you are using different TPM sensors for your summer tires? Did you get errors or anything at first? Maybe it does reset by itself after xNumber of miles driving. My Model S still has the Reset TPMS button but my Model X does not. I will install my new summer tires and see what happens. Will report back.
     
  5. Michelx

    Michelx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Alma QC Canada
    I installed back my summer wheels and tires tonight and after about 2 km (1.2 mile) tpms worked fine.
     
  6. bikeandsail

    bikeandsail Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    United States, NE Ohio
    Clarification I have 2 sets of wheels and tires, swapping sets without any kind of resetting worked fine.
     
  7. WayneMa

    WayneMa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Alabama
    Awesome! That's good to know. Thank you very much.
     
  8. FarmerDave

    FarmerDave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Martinsburg, PA
  9. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,501
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    So were these added sets ever 'attended to' by Tesla or 'they just worked'?

    If Tesla 'set them up' you could say the car can remember more than one set. If not, then it looks like it learns them, which is even better!
     
  10. BrokerDon

    BrokerDon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Newport Coast, CA
    My experience is the same as @bikeandsail. Our P85D came with 21" Turbine wheels and Summer ONLY ContiSportContact tires which work great here in sunny warm SoCal. I bought a set of 19" Cyclone wheels without TPMS off eBay, added a set of Tesla TPMS purchased at our local Tesla Service Center, and had America's Tire install the TPMS and new All-Season 19" Michelin MX4 tires. America's Tire told me new TPMS will be recognized after driving about 2 km (1.2 mile) even with all 4 of our 21" tires and wheels in the back of our P85D... and they were correct. EASY no brainer wheel swap. Once again THANKS Tesla for making things like this user friendly !!!
     
    • Like x 2
  11. WayneMa

    WayneMa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Alabama
    Question to anyone that swap out 20" to 22" black turbine. Does the wheels on the screen actually changes?
     
  12. goneskiian

    goneskiian Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    Bellevue WA
    No. The car's not THAT smart! :rolleyes::p;)
     
  13. WayneMa

    WayneMa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Alabama
    Some people have 2 sets of wheels. I was thinking, maybe Tesla can Id the wheels type with the sensors. In the pass version, when you reset the TPM using the TPM reset button. It will actually ask you if it is for 19" or 21" in the Model S.
     
  14. goneskiian

    goneskiian Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    Bellevue WA
    I have 2 sets of wheels too but my 2nd set is an aftermarket set. How would that work for my situation? ;)
     
  15. BrokerDon

    BrokerDon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Newport Coast, CA
    FYI my screen still shows my 21" Turbine wheels when my 19" Cyclone wheels are installed.
     
  16. vandacca

    vandacca ReActive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    Hamilton
    I got my 20" Slipstream wheels powder-coated a dark gray and the screen display didn't update. I'm thinking of returning it, since it's clearly defective. Isn't this how that top-down view works? ;)

    On a more serious (and equally funny) note, whenever the Tesla does something truly technologically impressive, my wife doesn't get impressed and seems to expect it to work that way.

    For example, when Tesla develops software with temporal smoothing to create a coarse point radar cloud that bounces under the car ahead of it to characterize the car in front's speed and position, realizes that the two cars are going to collide, sounds a warning 1.5 seconds prior to the collision and initiates emergency braking to avoid adding to the accident...well, she says, "of course it should do that"? o_O
     
    • Funny x 4
    • Like x 1
  17. FarmerDave

    FarmerDave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Martinsburg, PA
    The Tesla service center never saw the new tires/wheels. The car just recognized the new TPMS sensors automatically.
     
  18. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,501
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Excellent! So much for the manual, which, at least the copy I have, has the 'SC has to touch them' language.
     
  19. millertime

    millertime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    My winter tires and rims were purchased through tire rack and mounted, balanced through tire rack. They came with tpms installed by tire rack. I had them installed by the tire rack recommended shop and after driving for less than 5 minutes the car recognized the new sensors and they have worked as expected since. Not even Tesla sensors. I think these were conti sensors and they just worked. No SC needed.
     
  20. FarmerDave

    FarmerDave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Martinsburg, PA
    Mine were purchased the same way - 19" wheels with Bridgestone Blizzaks from Tire Rack. IMG_1195.JPG
     

Share This Page