TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Rim protection idea against curb rash (Aero wheels only...)

Discussion in 'Model 3: Interior & Exterior' started by m3guy, Sep 1, 2018.

?

Do you worried about curb rashes?

1. Sadly I am not a good driver.

6.5%
  2. I am a ok driver but I scratched my rims alot.

12.9%
  3. I am a good driver. Yet I am prone to mistakes.

58.1%
  4. Curb rashes? I am Ken Block you idiot!

22.6%
  1. m3guy

m3guy Member

I am going to get my Model 3 next week if everything wents good.

I am a careful driver, but like everybody else I am prone to mistakes as well. I rashed my rims on my other car probably 3 - 4 times in 3 years so I am worried about the same thing gonna happen to my new Model 3.

I was exploring the options out there for how to protect it. I stumbled upon several products that claimed to be good protection. But as far as the reviews on Amazon, all of of them are seems to be junk. One example: https://www.amazon.com/GoBadges-RB01-Blade-fits-wheels/dp/B00BHD60JY/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1535804871&sr=8-4&keywords=rim+protectors

So I kept exploring and got an idea when I saw this product: https://www.amazon.com/MATCC-Guards-Rubber-Protector-Protection/dp/B01BWKCUAO/ref=sr_1_4?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1535804913&sr=1-4&keywords=car+door+edge+guards

It has good reviews against door edges. So it might also work to cover the edges of Aero wheel cover to create a buffer spacing that might help to migitate or at least minimize the damage against curb rashes. It looks like its pretty tight to fit and kept secure in place but the pressure between the Aero wheel and cover should also give extra force to keep it in place so you might not need to use a glue or adhesive to adhere it as well.