Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Road Trippin' & Planning - RV sites?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello, all! I'm three weeks into ownership and juuuust short of 3,000 miles. Also we've survived our first accident (rear-ended, no damage). Whew! Love the car.

I'm done a couple of extended runs already, refueling at Superchargers, but I'm now planning longer trips which will require over-nighting. It occurs to me, and I see others doing it, that an RV park would allow for sleeping in the car (seats down for a comfy pad and sleeping bag in a climate-controlled space) and charging at the same time. Thing is, I know diddly about RV parks; I used to camp only in tents in primitive grounds, or I stay in hotels, so I have no experience with the middle ground.

So, a series of probably-simple questions: I can't tell from the couple of potential park sites I hit whether I'd have 120v or better power for recharging, as it just says "electric charging station," but I read that the NEMA 14-50 is common. Will my UMC definitely be sufficient or will I need another adapter? What would indicate that I need to change any charging settings on the Tesla from my usual home charging (I use a wall connector)? Should I just find a motel and then hit a Supercharger at the next town?

Thanks!

Hello, all! I'm three weeks into ownership and juuuust short of 3,000 miles. Also we've survived our first accident (rear-ended, no damage). Whew! Love the car.