Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Run Flat Tires for Model 3 - solution for lack of spare tire

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've had run flats in prior BMW and Mercedes- they run very stiff (so stiff if you park for 5 days or more- it will hop while driving until the flat spot goes away) that said most of the tire rips I've seen on this forum - will chew up a run flat. (did I mention the stiff ride - so much you would lose a tooth filling from the harshness) - I picked up a MODERN SPARE for the tesla with optional heavy duty jack- comes in a nice bag and all the fixins' - This isn't a 50 mile spare it's a normal type tire so you can keep driving.

To each his own, but i can't figure it out. I have been driving for 40 years and have never changed a flat on the road. Pay for a spare, lose trunk space and range due to extra weight? Pay the price every day, day in and day out? For what??? Without a spare you wait for a tow truck and lose 3 or 4 hours total getting it fixed which you would have to do anyway. Why not just mitigate your risk a bit by purchasing an air compressor to get you to a service center for a slow leak.

Air compressor and a plug kit will typically get you home, you’ll likely trash the tire, but you weren’t stranded. I’ve seen sidewall cuts plugged up with a bunch of plugs that held air long enough to get home (off-road vehicles).

Having had runflats on my BMWs, I wouldn’t go that direction. As a rule runflats are more $$$, louder, heavier, harder, less performance oriented, and the only place where I’m from that will patch runflats is discount tire.

My experience with run flats is, never ever again.

They are expensive, perform poorly in terms of road characteristics, often cannot (or won’t) be repaired where “normal” tires can be put back into service after punctures. Whoever invented them wasn’t doing drivers any favors.