TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Rust...anybody seen this?

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by Terminator, Jan 13, 2016.

1. Terminator

Terminator Member

My Model S has 2400 total miles. I just found this on both sides and haven't seen mention of it on the Tesla threads...I'm pretty sure this is a result of washing the car since it's winter here... If you know what causes it, tell me. It looks like something made of steel hidden in there needs a coat of paint! <br><br>This is my first attempt to post a pic on this thread...forgive me if I blew it!<br>
    <br>
    Cheers!<br>
    John

Attached Files:

2. santana338

santana338 Member

Take it to your service center. They should fix that ASAP under warranty. I haven't seen anything like this before, but it looks similar to the side marker corrosion issue and I just had my side markers replaced this year to fix them.

• Like x 1
  3. SmartElectric

SmartElectric Active Member

There are some threads on rust such as:
    Aluminium body Vs. Road salt

Unlikely this is rust though it may be "galvanic corrosion" instead.
    Best to get Tesla to review.

See this on a "different site":
    No more rust! | Forums | Tesla Motors

4. green1

green1 Active Member

When aluminium corrodes it's grey, not orange. This isn't that. it looks like rust. Possibly from the chrome? or some other actual iron/steel component.

5. LetsGoFast

LetsGoFast Active Member

+1. That is almost certainly old fashioned rust, probably from some hidden component. It should be replaced.

6. Skotty

Skotty 2014 Model S P85