Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

San Diego: CCA and solar install on Friday - do I stay with CCA, do I have a choice? Other noob questions

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi everyone! I'm getting my Tesla solar installed on Friday and I'm currently on EV-TOU-5 and I'm in the CCA instead of SDGE. Is there any practical difference between being with the CCA versus SDGE? If there is, do I have the option to swap to SDGE as part of going solar, or maybe after September when I hit 12 months?

Does it matter what my true-up month is and can I change it? On SDGE's website the wholesale rate credits are almost $0.15 for February 2023! All the articles make it seem like the true-up rate is based on the annual true-up month - which I guess is at PTO, is that true?

Since I'm NEM 2.0 do I still get NBCs even if I'm a net producer for that month, or is any power draw from SDGE hit with NBCs?

Should I stay on EV-TOU-5 if I'm a net producer? I'll have a couple thousand KW extra.

I can answer a few of your questions. I can't address the CCA vs SDG&E question since I'm in Poway and only have the choice of SDG&E

If you will truly be a net producer there are better rate plans than EV-TOU-5 which has a fixed $16.00 per month charge. On all rate plans under NEM 2.0 you will be charged NBCs for any power you draw from the grid. SDG&E calculates the net energy from the grid in 15 min increments and charges you NBCs for the energy you draw from the grid during each 15min period. I am a net producer and have found that SDG&E's TOU-DR rate is the best for my situation where I generate enough credits during the Off-Peak period to offset the cost incurred during Peak and Super Off-Peak periods. Therefore I pay the ~$10.00 minimum daily charge plus any NBCs I have.

For SDG&E the 12 month true-up date is set by your PTO date. I don't know if that can be changed.