TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Scenic drives near Fremont?

Discussion in 'Model S: Ordering, Production, Delivery' started by Gizmotoy, Nov 21, 2013.

1. Gizmotoy

Gizmotoy Active Member

I'm new to the Bay Area, and am picking up my S Saturday in Fremont. I'm thinking about taking it on a bit of a drive around the area and looping back through the Fremont Supercharger (so we can pick up our other car) before heading back to the peninsula. Anything good to see within range? I searched a bit, but didn't come up with much.

Considering the car will be new, I should probably note the driving will not be... efficient. :wink:

2. MichaelS

MichaelS Member

If you are looking for a short drive Niles Canyon is a very nice drive. And if you want a longer drive with lots of twists in the road, keep on going straight after you go under 680 at the end of Niles canyon. That takes you to Milpitas past the reservoir. Be warned though that cell service is spotty and the map will blank out in certain areas. But if you set your navigation to go to Milpitas, it will show you the correct turn to take at the T intersection. Have fun and congratulations on your new Model S.

3. Gizmotoy

Gizmotoy Active Member

84 through Niles Canyon, then down Calaveras Rd? Looks like an hour drive, 40 miles round trip to Fremont. Seems perfect. Thanks!

4. MichaelS

MichaelS Member

That's it. Have fun. Unfortunately my wife gets car sick on that great road.

5. DIL

DIL Member

Gizmo - The big day is almost here. Congrats in advance.

Concur with MichaelS that Niles Canyon is a good choice for twisties and scenery. Do watchout for cows, and he is also right that cell service is spotty.