Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Scratch (shopping cart type), no ding, back bumper - kindly suggest

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Dear fellow Tesla owners - kindly suggest ways to fix the paint scratch issue (back passenger side, length of about dollar bill) - is paint shop the only solution (or suggested option.. it’s Black M3)?

I’m totally new to this issue of getting paint (rather scratch fixed). It’s not a dent thankfully. I’m as it is unfamiliar with body shops.

I would appreciate any guidance on what works best (esp for Tesla but keen to listen on general ideas given the shopping cart instances seem quite common - I have another SUV that I haven’t bothered fixing but Black color on Tesla makes it jump out)

Regards

Picture would help, first suggestion without seeing anything is take to a good body shop and let them do paint correction if only in the clear coat. Tesla does have a paint kit which I've used on my rocker, worked out pretty good. I like the syringe method to apply paint from a kit.

Dear fellow Tesla owners - kindly suggest ways to fix the paint scratch issue (back passenger side, length of about dollar bill) - is paint shop the only solution (or suggested option.. it’s Black M3)?

All depends on the depth of the scratch.
If it's just clearcoat - the edges can be buffed out to near perfection.
If the scratch goes through the clear coat and into base coat - it can be made better, but will still be visible.
If all the way through the base coat - you will need to touch up with new paint, and it will never be perfect unless you respray the entire panel.

I would appreciate any guidance on what works best (esp for Tesla but keen to listen on general ideas given the shopping cart instances seem quite common - I have another SUV that I haven’t bothered fixing but Black color on Tesla makes it jump out)