Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Sentry Mode

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am new to using sentry mode. Just upgraded to autopilot 3.0 and I have sentry mode, I bought a Samsung FIT Plus 256 GB drive for it. Three questions:

1. I can see the recording button as I drive. I assume this is like a dashcam recording, is that correct?

2. Is there any way I can turn sentry mode on automatically every time I leave the car? About how much range will I lose by running sentry mode all day/night?

3. Can I view footage without plugging the USB into my computer? i.e., can I view footage within the car on the screen

Thanks!

It is in the manual, but:
1) yes, that is dashcam always recording the last 60 minutes, and then rewriting over the old every 60 minutes.
2) press the security tab and configure sentry. You can have it protect everytime you leave, or exclude home, favorites, work, etc. Power use is like 2 - 5 miles a day, but I am not certain on that.
3) press the dashcam icon whole stopped, and you can then review all recordings.

I'm on version 10.3, is this a different version? I checked the manual and I do not see what you mention for my 3rd question. Regardless, I went to the car, the car is parked in my driveway - I pressed the dashcam icon and it says it's saving the last 10 minutes. Nothing to view my recordings. Any ideas? I pulled the SD card, and the recordings are there when I use my computer. Thanks

If your car is on 2020.10.3, you are really out of date and need to update your car software. Pressing the dashcam Icon should provide you with options. The Sentry icon is actually a "sun" shaped icon next to the dashcam icon, but the viewer is accessed by pressing the dashcam icon. Try updating your software.