TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Service TPMS

Discussion in 'Model S' started by SabrToothSqrl, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,526
    Location:
    PA
    Service TPMS popped up on my way to work.

    v7 installed last week

    drove 160 miles Sunday without issue. New tires about a month ago.

    it was 30 out on my way to work...?

    Nothing about tires low, just says TPMS needs service.

    Ugh. On the plus side, the reverse lines seem to move more fluidly with v7.
     
  2. Lloyd

    Lloyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,885
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    I had one TPMS sensor go bad on my 2013 also. Tesla replaced it nicely. They came to my house, took the car for about an hour to a shop I recommended and returned it promptly! Great service.
     
  3. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,526
    Location:
    PA
    I have to take it in on the 2nd for other issues... since the tires are still on the wheels just fine... it's going to wait... just can't seem to win lately.
     
  4. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,566
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Tesla Service will fix you up. I've had 6 wheel sensors replaced (1, then all 4 then 1 of the new 4) plus the receiver and something called an extension antenna kit installed in my car.
     
  5. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,526
    Location:
    PA
    6?!

    The SC is 2 hours from my house... I'm getting tired of all these issues... they are minor, but c'mon...
     
  6. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,566
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    And what's weird is that it was only with the Tesla sensors that came with the car. The after-market Tire Rack sensors on my second set of rims have been rock solid.

    When I first got the error, they thought they found the culprit and replaced one wheel sensor. When the error came back a week or so later, that's when they decided to go all in and replace the receiver, add the antenna kit and put in 4 new sensors. Then, just my luck, one of the new 4 went bad. They were very good about getting me fixed up, and being just a few miles away, I could drop it off in the morning, pick up a loaner and return after work.

    I think if having service so convenient was not an option for me, I might not be as gracious about all of this.
     
  7. skboston

    skboston Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Wilmington, MA
    I've had TMPS computer on my car replaced twice so far for that error and each time it was when I was swapping summer to winter set of wheels (19" and 21" with Tesla censors).

    We'll see if I'll encounter the problem again when I go and swap my wheels next month.
     
  8. William13

    William13 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    Location:
    South Bend
    The early Model S TPMS eat up the battery faster than the more recent version. The after market versions are longer lasting also. The original ones only last about 500 days.... This is part of the early bird special. Ha. I LOVE MY TESLA. Warts and all.
     
  9. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Given other posts, I think Sabr would be ecstatic if they came to his other rather than making him drive two or so hours each way to the service center. Somehow though, I doubt it will go down that way.
     
  10. Lloyd

    Lloyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,885
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    I pre-paid for 4 years of ranger service when it was available. Don't know if that made a difference.
     
  11. Father Bill

    Father Bill Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Brighton, IL
    I had the Service TPMS alert as well, I rebooted the Dash Screen and it went away. Not sure if you tried that Saber, but that's what I did.

    Peace,
    Father Bill
     

Share This Page