TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Shared Breaker - Timer to Avoid Conflict

Discussion in 'Model 3: Battery & Charging' started by alansmallen, Aug 9, 2018.

  1. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    Long time reader, first time poster. Eagerly awaiting our M3 and getting the garage hooked up with a HPWC. It'll be run to a 30 amp breaker that is shared with an oven that is used about 10 times per year. I'd love to find a way to make sure the car only pulls power at night (when the oven is definitely not being used). Should we run a dedicated timer between the breaker and the HPWC, or will the scheduled charing in the car be enough to make sure no power is being pulled?

    Thanks!
     
  2. brucet999

    brucet999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    The car has a timer already. Just set time for charging to start and, forever more, whenever you plug in at that location, the car will set up to start charging at the pre-ordained hour. It won't shut off at some set time, however, so if charging would go on past the early morning time when your PoCo rates go up, you will have to remember to unplug.
     
  3. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    Thanks! Does the HPWC pull any significant type of power if the car is plugged in but not set to charge yet?
     
  4. brucet999

    brucet999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Nope. Probably about like what your TV uses for standby when turned off.
     
  5. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    Perfect. Shouldn't be enough to trip the breaker if the oven is not in use.
     
  6. tga

    tga Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3,007
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    At least on the S and X, delayed charging only effects the start of a charge cycle. If cabin overheat protection or preconditioning kicks in while the car is plugged in, it will pull a few amps (7? 8? I forget the exact number) from the wall for cooling. Heat is even more (cabin and battery heat are 6kw each).

    NEC also requires that car charging outlets be on dedicated circuits, so this install is iffy from a code standpoint.
     
    • Like x 1
  7. MorrisonHiker

    MorrisonHiker S 90D 2018.32.4

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,731
    Location:
    Colorado
    You could consider the Dryer Buddy. There are versions which prevent both outlets from working at the same time.
    Dryer Buddy™

    As others have mentioned, the car would only charge at night when scheduled...but such a device would make it easier for others to use the oven or charge the car without having to worry about tripping the breaker.
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    My oven is built into the wall so I don't know if I'd be able to get it in between there and the breaker.

    Didn't know it had to be on a dedicated circuit. Might have to piggyback the oven to a different breaker and leave the 30a open for the car.
     
  9. eprosenx

    eprosenx Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    This would definitely not be code compliant. As mentioned, EVSE's must be on a dedicated circuit. Moving the oven to share with something else would also not be allowed I don't think (there may be conditions where like an oven and a range can share one circuit I think, but an oven I don't think can share with anything else).

    Why not just add a new breaker for the car charging? Do you not think you have enough overall capacity in the main panel (is it like a 200a panel/service?)

    Very often, lack of physical space in the panel can be rectified by installing "tandem" breakers which basically doubles your breaker capacity by putting two breakers in one position.

    Can you post pictures of your panel? (and the sticker on the door with all the tech specs)
     
    • Informative x 1
  10. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    We're totally maxed out and can't add another breaker without replacing the panel with a newer, larger unit. It's a 60 year old house that we did an addition to a few years ago and added a subpanel for the new section.
     
  11. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    1BAA91F6-1411-4637-A0FE-113A54E9C96B.jpeg AF0DA60D-D437-49CC-A015-943BCA27D5B7.jpeg
    Attaching photos of the main panel and the subpanel if have any ideas.
     
  12. smatthew

    smatthew Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    Do you have 3 ovens? I see Oven on both panels, and "steam oven" on the second.

    Tandem 220 breakers are also an option.
     
  13. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    I don't believe the one line from the first panel is still in use. We replaced it when we did the addition. That being said, using anything from that first panel for the car would require ripping up the ceiling and running a pretty long new line of wire. The second (nicely labeled) panel is next to the garage.
     
  14. eprosenx

    eprosenx Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    More on this later, but first thoughts:

    You can use tandem breakers on some of the existing circuits. Most of your breaker positions allow for tandem installations.

    But then I am concerned since I see at least one tandem in a position it is not supposed to be allowed, and I think there may be multiple brands of breaker used which may or may not be rated for use in that panel (it is complicated since some breakers are cross rated into other panels).

    Beyond the mechanical “can you add a breaker”, the bigger question is the load calculation of the house. Would you be allowed to add another load?

    You have a TON of circuits in the house for only a 200a service, but I suspect many are lightly loaded.
     
    • Like x 3
  15. eprosenx

    eprosenx Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    I can’t see well enough. Can you post more detailed pictures that for instance show the ampacity of the breaker feeding the sub panel? Also, pictures with the panel covers removed would be useful. One thing I am wondering about is what the wire gauge and type is feeding the sub panel.

    As you already know, you are probably really pushing the 200a feed limits by the calculations at least.

    I have a “Sense” unit for monitoring my power which is cool. Might be interesting to get a practical picture of what your actual power draw is.
     
  16. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    I can snap more photos soon. The breaker feeding the subpanel is 100 amps.
     
  17. eprosenx

    eprosenx Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    What is up with all the unlabeled breakers in the subpanel? Are those just spare? Or are they all used but unlabeled?

    Now back on my computer, it looks like there are tandem breakers in your main panel in places that there should not be. And probably wrong brands of breakers as well.

    I think the reason for allowing or not allowing tandem breakers was because there was a rule saying panelboards could not have more than like 40 breakers in them, but it may not have been a technical reason (with that being said, the old panelboards must comply with the rules from when they were manufactured and certified). Also, I think from a practical standpoint mixing breakers of certain types between manufacturers is super common, but technically not allowed. Nobody wants to be responsible for a fire when two things that were not certified or tested together cause an issue.
     
  18. alansmallen

    alansmallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    MYC
    In popping open the sub panel, we are able to find some unused space. Thanks for everyone's help on this!
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC