TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Should I take driving lessons?

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by daniel, Jul 8, 2011.

1. daniel

daniel Active Member

I've been driving regular cars for over four decades. A Jeep when I was younger in North Dakota, then a Civic, then a Prius (which is still my gas guzzler), and a little Zap Xebra, which has been my daily driver for four years and which I'll be trying to sell soon .

Except for the Jeep way back when, and the Xebra, which goes too slowly to matter, I have not driven a rear-wheel drive car. I've never driven a high-performance car. I have no interest in racing or other car sports. I bought this car because it's electric.

I'm having great fun in the 9 days since my very orange Roadster arrived, but I'm wondering: Should I take high-performance driving lessons? Apparently there's a raceway near here where there's a guy who gives lessons. Or is that just for people who are going to race?

2. Sparrow

Sparrow S105/ Roadster 189

I bought the Roadster for the same reason, it is electric. The only time I ever accelerate quickly is when I am giving a test ride. Other than those few test rides, I drive the Roadster very sedately and have always been impressed by how easy it is to controll your acceleration. If you want to go fast it goes fast if you want to go slow it doesn't force you to be extremely light on the accelerator. As such I have felt that I am always firmly in controll of the car and see no reason to take any kind of driving lessons.

3. Mycroft

Mycroft Life happens

Unless you're planning on using it on a track, then while it may be fun, high-performance driving lessons would probably be a waste of money. Better would be defensive driving lessons.

4. Slackjaw

Slackjaw Member

#4 Slackjaw, Jul 8, 2011