TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Slacker Radio Tip for New Owners!

Discussion in 'Model S: Ordering, Production, Delivery' started by theslimshadyist, Dec 4, 2016.

  1. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Hi all, I have a solid tip for all of you new or soon to be owners. I emailed [email protected] and asked them for my Slacker Radio username and password, which they quickly replied and provided back to me within a few hours. With that info, I went to the Slacker website on my Mac and logged in, went to account settings, and changed the low quality audio setting to high! Now I have the higher quality 320kbps streaming audio in my car!

    Enjoy! ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative x 14
    • Helpful x 10
    • Like x 8
  2. JimmyMcNulty

    JimmyMcNulty Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Nice, thanks for the tip.

    So, do we know for a fact that the changes you make on your computer affect the stream quality in the car? I'm guessing you noticed a difference?
     
  3. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Yes, it absolutely does!!!
     
    • Like x 2
  4. GOTMEEV

    GOTMEEV Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Piedmont
    Do you automatically get an account with Slacker as part of the purchase so you can log into that account and upgrade the streaming? Or, do you have to create an online account and pay an additional subscription fee?
     
  5. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    You automatically get one with the car and you don't have to login with the credentials, it's already done when you take delivery of the vehicle.
     
  6. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    What I did to ensure that the higher audio kicked in was I made the changes on the website then went to the car and logged out of Slacker, then logged back in. This step may not be needed but I went ahead and performed this sequence just to make sure.
     
  7. Austral

    Austral Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Even moderators don’t follow forum rules....
    Nice. Was able to edit my favorite stations from my den with that factoid, Slim Shady. :) Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like x 1
  8. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    My pleasure!
     
    • Like x 1
  9. Hojo

    Hojo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Worked for me as well. Thanks:):)
     
    • Like x 2
  10. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    When you go to log back into Slacker, there will be a box that you can check for "use higher bitrate". ;)
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. sbtz

    sbtz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    southern california
    Are we sure that the quality settings actually change in the car? I toggled the setting on the website, but found that it had defaulted back to normal in the iOS app (for which I used the same login).
     
  12. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Positive. When you log back into the car there is a box right under the username and password that says, "Use High Bitrate". Check that box and log back in.
     
  13. Skipdd

    Skipdd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Thanks for the info! Am curious about 2 things. A few months ago there were postings about one of the new releases seemingly having caused the higher fidelity option to have been toggled. Did that somehow adjust back in another update? Or was the original supposition erroneous? Second, also curious to know if the use of the earlier 3G antenna makes a difference with the higher bit rate? Thinking not based on rated 3G capacity, but wondering nonetheless. I have the 3G antenna, haven't really seen a reason to upgrade, yet.
     
  14. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,045
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  15. BEEZR

    BEEZR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Thanks! With the upgrade to 8.0 (IIRC) the login details mysteriously disappeared. I would have expected Tesla service to be more proactive about sending this information to owners.
     
  16. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,045
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I went to Slacker.com to reset my account settings after the Tesla 8.0 upgrade ... :cool:

    upload_2016-12-4_22-48-42.png
     
    • Helpful x 1
  17. Footer

    Footer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    I always wondered why Slacker didn't sound so good:oops:. Hopefully it will bring out the best in the UHF option. I just logged in to the website and changed the bitrate. Now I have to wait till I get home from China to try it out. :(

    Thanks Scott. Great tip. Why didn't you buy a Tesla sooner? Then I wouldn't have had to listen to substandard radio the last 2 years.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Funny x 1
  18. BEEZR

    BEEZR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Mods: This should be a pinned post! Or at least an entry into an owner FAQ...
     
  19. Ormond

    Ormond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    USA
    I sent off for mine just now. I have been meaning to do this. Thanks for jogging my memory!
     
  20. Pantoot

    Pantoot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Arizona
    #20 Pantoot, Dec 5, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2016
    Thanks for the reminder, just sent off my request.

    edit: already got the response. very odd, my wife already had higher bitrate set, but mine didn't. Looking forward to seeing if I notice an improvement.
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page