TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

So I got my car back from service and the app is stuck in "Vehicle in Service"

Discussion in 'Model S' started by RichardD, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    Is there a trick to getting the mobile app out of "Vehicle in Service" I have:
    • Called the service center who forgot to close the work order
    • Called Tesla support who asked me to give it an hour.
    • Rebooted the center console
    • Rebooted the dashboard
    • Powered the car off for 5 minutes
    • Checked the app settings
    • Uninstalled the app
    • Reinstalled the app.
    • Contemplated sacrificing a goat.. :)
    Thoughts? Currently it is escalated as they do not know what to do.. They have pulled the mythical logs and are reviewing them.
     
  2. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,564
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    I think you'll probably be fine, once the service center closes the work order.

    Mistakes happen. This is a relatively minor one, with relatively minor negative ramifications for you. You are sure to have bigger issues than this at some point, so I wouldn't let this one bother you too much. I'm sure that by some time tomorrow, everything will be back to normal.
     
    • Like x 3
  3. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks I agree, was hoping it was something I did, or could undo from my end.. No real issues created by this, it still autoparks. I just can't summon it, and like you said.. There are bound to be bigger issues out there.

    All is well :)
     
    • Like x 1
  4. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    mythical logs? Always a good idea to retain a friendly disposition with the people that can work on your brakes and prepare your food.
    You do know that Tesla folks read this forum?
     
  5. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    Of course, you see the tongue in cheek in my comment about sacrificing a goat.. there is no blame here, I was hoping it was something i forgot to do, or something i could do to help the process along. I have had the car for a week, so I am completely new, and was asking the question,.,. is there a trick to get it out of this mode?
     
  6. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    oh, you didn't have a spare goat to give up? Shucks, I was looking forward to bbq mutton. Nope, to your question. First time we have seen this posted here or TM.
     
  7. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks I searched before I posted too, I just feel silly, like its that one thing I should have tried. The 3 people on the phone all had me going down different paths, and then escalated me. I truly hope the request to take it out of service just got lost over the air, and tomorrow it will just work.. Bummed out that I can't show my wife the new app, but again, first world problems, none of this is the end of the world etc. Thanks for the replies I appreciate the effort.

    All the best from Texas..
     
  8. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,564
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    Mutton is sheep, not goat:

    the definition of mutton
     
  9. CuriousG

    CuriousG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    But at least now you can idle at SuperChargers without worrying about fees.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Funny x 1
  10. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    Andy, oh yeah. thanks (trying to be too clever.) (me)
     
    • Like x 1
  11. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,815
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    I had a ranger once accidentally leave me in factory mode.

    Details are a bit foggy as it was awhile ago, but I think the way out was to hold the tesla T for 5 seconds or so, until you see it flash.

    If I remember right.

    Which isn't guaranteed.
     
  12. Boourns

    Boourns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Dallas
    I had this too, but once I killed and relaunched the app it refreshed. I don't remember the old app version doing this at all. I could see where my car was parked and when it was charging last time it was in service.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    Don't be surprised if you can't see your car when its in for service next time. Sometimes they forget, but most of the time the tech disable remote access and unplug the power going to any dashcam. (I don't object to it, its a minor thing.)
     
    • Like x 1
  14. smsprague

    smsprague Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    This happened to me on my last service visit. Took Tesla a few days to close the work order and then the mobile app started working again.
     
    • Like x 1
  15. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,115
    Location:
    So Cal
    Is your car in diagnostic mode? What happens when you touch the Tesla T? Generally a reboot will clear all service modes though so this shouldn't apply.
     
  16. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    When I touch the T I get my car screen. When I hold the T it asks for an access code.

    I'm going to try and be patient. It's tough though. Ha ha
     
  17. Reekdog

    Reekdog Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA
    #17 Reekdog, Feb 15, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
    Just got mine back from service, and my rep gave me the answer to your problem: Try This... delete the app from your phone then download and reload it - enter user name and password when asked and everything will be back to normal
     
  18. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,965
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    Richard. Try the deep reboot. Sit in the car, foot on the brake, hold it. using the scroll wheels, reboot the car. This is a more thorough reboot than the normal "just the scroll wheels".
     
  19. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks they had me try that but will do it again..

    I appreciate the thought.
     
  20. RichardD

    RichardD Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Texas
    Will do this in the morning if it didn't resolve itself. Thanks for this tip though.
     

Share This Page