TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

So what does .139 really do?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by DoctorV8, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. DoctorV8

    DoctorV8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Just got the update.....I hear the rumors about torque sleep, etc, but the release notes just seem to be a rehash of the V6.1 update. What does .139 really do?
     
  2. redox

    redox Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    If there are no new features listed in release notes, I'd assume it's a simple bug fix release.
    If torque sleep was there, I'd assume it would at least make it to release notes somehow. My guess is it's not there. Yes, I know one can argue that torque sleep is a bug fix...

    -- Greg
     
  3. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,394
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3 Cyclone, Feb 3, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
    I thought one of the other threads mentioned that Torque Sleep is now available in Range Mode with.139

    Firmware 6.1 - Page 94
     
  4. patp

    patp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes. I can attest. Just upgraded my car to .139 and see it when pressing Info on the Range button. I'll try it at the end of the afternoon.
     
  5. HillCountryFun

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Can someone post a picture of the "Info button" on the Range Mode option?
     
  6. Kalud

    Kalud Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Firmware 6.1 - Page 94
     
  7. hingisfan

    hingisfan hingisfan_Mark_V

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    The only thing I noticed was it took "night" away from the energy savings options...now just ON, OFF, and the 'always connected' box.

    But I don't have tech or D either.
     
  8. HillCountryFun

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    OK, we have torque sleepage! How about top speed changes, any D owner with .139 try and hit 155 yet? If so I hope you were very safe with your attempt!

    Did you make it?
     
  9. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,731
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    No torque sleep in the .139 update.

    Just bug fixes .
     
  10. skilly

    skilly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Livermore CA
    Todd do you know something different than the posts showing it linked to range mode (which I think its a cop out)? I see by your signature you have a P, but you have a lot of experience - did we miss something?
     
  11. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
  12. kabirakhtar

    kabirakhtar but you can call me Kabir

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    LA, CA
    i encountered the brake issue the other day, and it was pretty unnerving. awesome news if this is the fix.
     
  13. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,731
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Well I admit I don't have any hard evidence, but looking objectively at everyone's posts (since I have no skin in the game), there's a smattering of "I'm getting much better Wh/mi numbers" and others saying "I'm not seeing an improvement at all."

    To me, that's enough evidence to say that torque sleep isn't here yet. People who have made these comments don't have a very large sample of driving to choose from (since the release hasn't been out long enough), so slightly better numbers over a single route mean nothing. A simple 5 mph tailwind can noticably improve Wh/mi numbers on a single drive. Torque sleep should be an obvious improvement to everyone.

    Historically, people tend to see changes in a release that aren't really there. Almost every update there are comments about regen being tweaked...but it turns out to usually be just a combination of the power of suggestion, coupled with the fact that regen can change dramatically depending on state of charge and battery temperature--and has nothing to do with the release at all.

    I also think that historically, something like torque sleep would almost certainly be mentioned in release notes, since it is a significant improvement for D owners.

    I know there is some verbiage about improved dual motor efficiency using range mode in a dialog...but there is no reason for torque sleep to be limited to range mode only. I don't think it's the true, full torque sleep.

    Now--I am happy to be proven wrong...but this is just my thinking based on posts from D owners and what I understand as Tesla's behavior in past software updates.

    (Reviewing my post, I should not have phrased it as if my comment were fact).
     
  14. techmaven

    techmaven Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,557
    It is also possible that this release is primarily for the brakes, but has an incomplete torque sleep algorithm.
     
  15. donv

    donv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Lake Jeanclia, OR
    The wording is pretty clear. "It will also distribute torque between the motors to improve range."

    People are sometimes having difficulty identifying the improvement because a) it's only 10%, and b) it only makes any sort of difference during constant speed freeway cruising. If you're driving in any other conditions, it doesn't do anything.

     
  16. spentan

    spentan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,254
    Location:
    SoCal
    Its really quite simple,

    *.116 was released to fix the brake issue

    *.139 was released to fix the brake issue...and add (albeit a rudimentary form of) "Torque Sleep" to P85Ds.

    This explains why 139 went out to all the P85Ds, and 116 has been rolled out asap to most Model Ses that have Autopilot.

    The fact that "Range mode" didn't do anything before other than limiting climate control, and the fact that it was only available in Sport (not Sport and Insane Mode), suggests that it has definitely introduced Torque Sleep.

    However, It is possible we will get a separate option in the future which will allow us to turn on torque sleep while leaving climate control limitations off.

    This form of granularity is probably upcoming in the next update (Similar to "Comfort, Standard and Sport" being removed, and then re-added for Steering Adjustment)
     
  17. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,731
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Introduced torque sleep? I can buy that.

    But since it's currently only tied to range mode, I'd call this a "beta" release. There's no reason for it to be tied to range mode--I think they're still working on it.
     
  18. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    5,387
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    Actually as per Jerome Guillen, quoted by wk057 in post 1090 in the following thread, torque sleep isn't tied only to range mode:

    Firmware 6.1 - Page 109
     

Share This Page