Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register
  • We just completed a significant update, but we still have some fixes and adjustments to make. Please see this thread for more details and to find out how to revert to the old design. Cheers!

Software updates on 2021 Model 3s?

BHouse

Sep 29, 2020
Victoria, BC
Has anyone with a refreshed Model 3 gotten a software update? I'm new to Tesla so Im unsure how it works, but my car came with 2020.35.202.1 and it hasnt changed. My car doesnt have the PIN to open the glove box or anything else that would have came out recently. Now I see theres a new 2020.44.15 thats recently came out and I dont know what I need to do to get it. My car downloaded a game and a navigation update but that's it.

Upvote 0

jjrandorin

Moderator, Model 3, Tesla Energy Forums
Nov 28, 2018
Riverside Co. CA
Has anyone with a refreshed Model 3 gotten a software update? I'm new to Tesla so Im unsure how it works, but my car came with 2020.35.202.1 and it hasnt changed. My car doesnt have the PIN to open the glove box or anything else that would have came out recently. Now I see theres a new 2020.44.15 thats recently came out and I dont know what I need to do to get it. My car downloaded a game and a navigation update but that's it.

There isnt anything you can do to make your car download OTA updates faster. This is something that tends to confuse new tesla owners especially, since they think of the OTA updates like iOS or Android updates, that you can trigger as soon as they are available, when you want.

it doesnt work quite like that, unfortunately. Tesla staggers releases of these updates, and there will be times when you wont even get "update X" because your car will skip it. Tesla staggers releasing these updates to various cars with various configurations. In addition, NEW cars can take from "a few days to a few weeks" to get their first software update.