Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Solving the "WiFi Connectivity" problem...

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
(I posted this elsewhere in another "WiFi thread", but in hindsight, I'm not sure it was the best place for visibility...)

This is going to be a long post
but please consider it a PSA. I'm pretty sure that Tesla is not going to tell anyone any of this, but maybe it will help some of the growing number of folks who are experiencing WiFi connectivity issues in the newer vehicles. This post contains a lot of information (and background) about what I have found, and how I have specifically resolved, MY "WiFi connectivity" issue with my Model X. I have been a certified Network Engineer (CNE, MCSE) building and managing networks since the early 1980's. Fortunately I have enough tools (software), and understand how to use them, in order for me to identify and resolve this issue I was having. I'm also lucky my network equipment (Access Points and Routers) are robust enough to be able to provide me the data needed to identify the very specific source of issues which was causing me "WiFi" connectivity issues (and maybe the same as others are having as well). I'll try to be brief and precise but this story bears some background discussion. So here goes...

First: Tesla should be ashamed. The issues many of us are seeing are due to lazy network programming. Additionally, this is not a "WiFi" issue as many have surmised (simply cause the car connects via WiFi), it is a security issue. To make matters worse, the error message the car presents ("Can't connect to WiFi because it doesn't support a login page") is completely inaccurate and misleading. This is not a "WiFi" problem...