TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Some mod notes: mini 0806, tiny 12v 5v circuit, hatch light, front T, rear skid plate

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by mudfud, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. mudfud

    mudfud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    SF bay area, United States
    Mini 0806 dashcam. Small size. Fits behind mirror. Powered from spare 12v in microphone area. < $100

    Tiny 12v to 5 v circuit. Ultra small, by atomic market. Amazon.

    Bright LED light. Direct plug in. Fits hole perfectly where light module was. Lorcoo light, Amazon

    Evannex light T kit. Easy to install in 2 hours. Don't need to remove nose cone or frunk liner. Just pop open a couple inches. Only need to solder to OBD plug. Maybe crimp instead? Can store remote's signal in home link for on/off if you want.

    Rear skid plate. Cracked due to weakened plastic from hole cut for trailer hitch. Glued and covered with carbon fiber vinyl wrap.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kevincwelch

    kevincwelch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,015
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Ate people plugging their dash cams into the spare 12V within the microphone area?

    I have a car with VIN 4293 and wonder if they are all that way. Does the cover just pop off? Any risk to tabs that may break?
     
  3. mudfud

    mudfud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    SF bay area, United States
    the cover is easy to pop off. put your nails in under and it pops off. there are springy clips that hold. some vehicles have the extra 12v plug and some do not. my is 54000 range. i don't know about the early ones.
     
  4. cgiGuy

    cgiGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    975
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Early ones had it. My 9xxx VIN had it. Then they removed them in a later VIN range and then added back again. Sorry I don't know ranges. Easy to pop that panel out and check though. It will be a plug hooked up to nothing.
     
  5. kevincwelch

    kevincwelch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,015
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I am going to check out your Mini 0806, but I've read more about the Blackvue camera. I assume they are all easy hook ups in there. Any soldering involved? Wire stripping?
     
  6. steph280

    steph280 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Orange, CA

    Just installed a Mini 0806 over the holiday. It doesn't have all the bells/whiles of Blackvue but the picture quality is every bit as good, plus at 1/3 the cost I can buy a second 0806 for rear.
    If you have the right plug to fit into the 12v plug in speaker grill then it will be plug and play. I made a plug for the 12v-5v converter and it plugs right in.
     
  7. mmccord

    mmccord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    762
    Location:
    Pine Bush, NY
    I have an 0806 in my car also. I wasn't aware of the plug in the mirror mount when i installed mine, so it's wired to the obd2 port.

    I've had it replaced once under warranty. Apparently they can't handle temps above 100 degrees or so and die regularly in the summer. If it goes again next year, I'll probably get a blackvue.
     
  8. mudfud

    mudfud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    SF bay area, United States
    if you have the 12v plug, then you still need a small circuit to drop to 5 volts for the camera, unless you run from the 12v accessory and use the included adapter to 5v.

    the tiny circuit I found is easy to fit up there, but it does require a bit of soldering. I happened to have the plug that mates with that empty plug, so no soldering or stripping any existing wires.

    - - - Updated - - -


    one problem I have had is that sometimes when the card gets full it stops recording... not so reliable this way. I bought a new card and it seems to be better.
     
  9. steph280

    steph280 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Orange, CA
    On my other dashcam (Mobius) I had this similar issue. It was due to the card being formatted as exFAT. I just had to reformat it as FAT32 to enable loop writing.
     
  10. mudfud

    mudfud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    SF bay area, United States
    Good suggestion. I'll try this.
     

Share This Page