Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Some new 3s and Ys without USB

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
If you don't think you can wait a few months for some USB ports while you get to enjoy the AMAZING car, you should definitely cancel your order now. Remember, the alternative is THE ENTIRE CAR is delayed for months until they can source those parts. I'd much rather have the AMAZING car for those months, given I'm pretty confident Tesla would make good on the ports once they are back in stock.

Edit: I'm not excusing the lack of communication; Tesla is a bit of a chaotic company so it doesn't surprise me. But the chip shortage is very real -- I work in IT and it's making it extremely difficult to deliver any project for the next 18 months.

Is it possible to reject on this basis? I certainly wouldn’t be happy that ‘they may be fitted in the future’. Usb for me is essential for the rear seats
if it's true for the MIC cars, I would assume so as it's still a listed feature:

Convenience​

1. Power folding, auto-dimming, heated side mirrors
  2. Custom driver profiles
  3. Center console with storage, 4 USB-C ports and wireless charging for 2 smartphones

edit: just saw they're promising to retrofit (so not the same as passenger lumbar support), so assuming you get that in writing and can wait a bit, probably a bit extreme

Last edited:
Agreed that not informing customers is a BS move, but unfortunately very Tesla. Not just USB either, somer reports of no wireless charging pads.

On the plus side...at least they can easily be retrofitted and supposedly will be FOC when they are available.

Whereas other cars, are losing things such as Touch Screen's and there is no option to have them added later on.

Reactions: Wol747