TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

[Speculation] 120kWh Model S links on German Tesla site?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by yobigd20, Apr 12, 2016.

  1. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
    not sure if this was photoshopped or legit, but someone on facebook posted that for a while today there were 100kWh and 120kWh Model S configurations posted on the German MS site. not sure if they are still there now. here is the photo that was posted:

    12961615_10156780424315521_1524164819439313112_n.jpg
     
  2. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Photoshopped. Notice the lack of noise on the 100kWh and 120kWh lines:
    Photoshopped.png
     
    • Like x 5
    • Informative x 2
  3. Edmond

    Edmond Permanon

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3 Edmond, Apr 13, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2016
    'Lack of noise'? It's be easy to copy/paste 'kWh Performance' from above, but none others are like it. Same with the zeros. And where did they get 1 and 2?

    Nah the only way this could have been faked is if they started fresh with the same font and color, and then ran it through degradation procedures like screenshots.

    Either this was an expert fake, or it's real.
     
  4. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Where is this combo box in Design Studio or ...?
     
  5. Pando

    Pando Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Sandy Ego
    No. Someone making a screenshot won't get the JPEG noise at all. The compression artifact appears after the file is saved as a JPEG (after it's already edited). Try it yourself.

    It could have easily been faked, but you can't determine this by looking at noise.
     
  6. Lesifass

    Lesifass Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Germany
    #6 Lesifass, Apr 13, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2016
    This is a jpeg apparently (someone needs to learn how to choose the correct image format for screenshots). JPEGs have artifacts at random all over the place, so you can't tell if it's photoshopped or not just by looking at the noise. Maybe it just has less noise at the bottom because it's closer to that big blank space below the drop down menu.

    Faking this is really easy though. Just download the webpage and edit it. See my attachment, which is a 100% legit screenshot of a web page that I edited to contain a new battery option that will probably never exist. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Funny x 4
  7. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Like that's hard:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative x 1
    • Funny x 1
  8. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Argh! You beat me to it.

    I'm leaving up mine. It's more believable. Maybe it will end up in the press.

    Not trying to manipulate the stock at all. No.:cool:
     
  9. Lesifass

    Lesifass Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe that really was some kind of software failure leak though. They probably have 100kWh models for internal testing, as we know the firmware already supports it. And they probably have a database table of all the cars, including test cars (so they can use superchargers and mobile apps on a test car).

    It's possible that the CPO website failed to filter out testing cars when populating the drop down menu and that 100/120 option was displayed by accident. (SELECT DISTINCT battery_capacity, is_awd, is_performance FROM cars -- and then forgot to add WHERE is_testing = 0 or something like WHERE list_on_cpo_site = 1)
     
  10. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    I find it hard to believe that they would have both a 100 and 120 performance model at the same time in the same system, even for testing.

    If they have both a 100 and 120 coming up soon, the 100 will be Allrandantrieb, and the 120 will be Allrandantrieb and Performance Allrandantrieb.

    Occam's razor, and something about horses and zebras.
     
  11. sorka

    sorka Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,269
    Location:
    Merced, CA
    If someone was trying to pass this off as legit, they would have been much better off leaving the 120 kWh while leaving the 100 kWh in.
     
  12. Subhuman

    Subhuman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    United States
    Uber performance....nice touch!
     
  13. shinne

    shinne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Oakland
    You don't need photoshop some extra values in a dropbox. You can easily add some values from chrome or firebox. With that said I hope this is legit.
     
    • Like x 1
  14. InternetDude

    InternetDude Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    SK/Canada
    That can be faked in about 30 seconds and not using photoshop. Just save the page locally, edit the code, open it in your browser and take a partial screenshot.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  15. mhpr262

    mhpr262 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    Old Europe
    Pretty sure those 120kwh would be achievable even today ... by using large format pouch cells instead of 18650s. But those come with their own set of issues, of course.
     
  16. HyperMiler

    HyperMiler Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Germany
    With a number of freeway refurbishments completed, and the average ICE beyond 100 kW, a lot of the autobahn travel during off peak hours is happening at 100 Mph or more for everybody in the left lane. Even delivery vans can do that nowadays. My A8 has a long term average speed including all types of driving of around 66 Mph.

    I am really a Tesla fanboy and EV driver, but Elon has driven here himself, and he knows that Tesla has yet to deliver an autobahn worthy car that can dare come out of the truck lane for trips of more than 100 miles. We could use a few extra kWh dearly, and I am not talking yet another software embellished 77 kWh battery ;).
     
    • Informative x 1
  17. 1208

    1208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    UK
    Think the speed upgrade is more important to some...
    1.JPG
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Love x 1
  18. HyperMiler

    HyperMiler Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Germany
    Speed is fun.

    Model S is a perfect, most wonderful car, like no other.

    At speed, there still is a range issue. Elon knows. Distance is essential. For all serious users.

    Everything else is plaid ludicrous... :)
     
  19. gde_eu

    gde_eu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Europa
    100 mph for everybody is probably overkill :) But it happens I cross Germany from far north to Switzerland (1200 km / 750 mi) during Easter break. It took exactly 14h (including breaks and traffic jam...). So it's an average of 85 km/h (~53 mph with breaks). Most of the trip was done with autopilot set to 150 km/h (~ 93 mph, max speed for autopilot). We have done only 4 superchargers breaks (Rhüden, Mücke, Hirschberg and Egerkingen) and we were 4 persons with lots of stuff.

    So, to make it short : with a 85 kwh RWD Model S, you can already have fun at autobahn speed without worry too much about range (you have so many Supercherger over there)

    PS: Autopilot is so relaxing, a HUGE plus for such trip :)
     
    • Like x 1
  20. HyperMiler

    HyperMiler Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Germany
    Sounds good! Meaning, you were roughly at 150 - 180 Mile intervals on average (4 ScC = 5 trip segments)?
     

Share This Page