TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Speed limit in France

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by MathijsKok, Aug 19, 2018.

  1. MathijsKok

    MathijsKok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    France
    Recently (well two months ago) the speed limit in France on rural roads has gone down from 90 to 80 kmh. But my tesla still believes in the old speed so every time I activate the speed limiter it has it wrong. I was told by the staff in Bordeaux (nice people btw) that this has to be solved by HQ. But I was really not expecting to wait so long and to get no update or information.

    Does anybody has any information about this?
     
    • Informative x 1
  2. SpudLime

    SpudLime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    Chantilly, Va (Loudoun)
    Submit a voice bug report?
     
  3. anonymouse

    anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Is is very unhelpful that this has not been fixed by Tesla - other gps systems received an update. It is significant because it affects every minor road in the whole country.

    I have reported the issue to EU service and also used the “escalate” button on my Tesla account. I suggest you do the same. However you will need to explain it in very simple language as they completely misunderstood on the first time around.
     
  4. fren

    fren Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    france
    tried to bug report it but car didn t recognise the command ,i remember last year it was working :(
     
  5. Galinette

    Galinette Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Nantes
    Do you know how to report à bug on a french car? Do the english voice command work?
     
  6. anonymouse

    anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    I don’t know, but your other options include:
    - email [email protected]
    - use the escalate button on your Tesla.com account page
    - email [email protected]

    My attempts got nowhere but if lots of people complain perhaps they will understand.

    My favourite erroneous reply so far was “Using our latest live navigation system you have access to updated speed limits and all information needed.”. Except if you get a speeding ticket on any of the 400,000km of roads where the car shows the wrong limit, that is!
     
  7. MathijsKok

    MathijsKok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    France
  8. Sabre Man

    Sabre Man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have the same issue in Ireland. Lots of speed limits changed recently. Hopefully v9 will be able to recognize speed limit signs.
     
  9. MathijsKok

    MathijsKok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    France
    That won't solve the French issue as it is a nation wide change. where you were allowed to go 90 kmh you can now only go 80 kmh.
     
  10. Sabre Man

    Sabre Man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Ireland
    You don't have speed limit signs telling you this?

    Or is the sign something like this?
    france speed limit signs - Google Search:
     
  11. anonymouse

    anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    No. It appears to be complete chaos, with some départments refusing to change signs, others changing them but slowly. And speed limits can be implied by town limit signs and other things. For a newcomer it is utterly confusing and exactly the sort of place where looking down at the Tesla display should make life easier. Not even more confusing.
     
  12. SpudLime

    SpudLime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    Chantilly, Va (Loudoun)
    Curious. Waze has people manually update the maps for the speed limits. Does Waze show these areas accurately? The fallback may have to be using waze as the verification of the speed limit.
     
  13. anonymouse

    anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Somehow I doubt that crowdsourcing will have fixed >400,000 km of roads yet.
     
  14. lklundin

    lklundin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Munich
    Yes, but to simplify things they may just inform the driver that the default speed limit is now in force, as in this:
    Town sign - Wikipedia
    (with a red diagonal),
    or the sign may just be a white circle with a black diagonal:
    https://www.bussgeldkatalog-mpu.de/bussgeld-wAssets/img/verkehrszeichen/vorschriftzeichen/weblication/wThumbnails/282-zeichen-ende-aller-streckenverbote-verkehrsschild-eb6bed0e74c4d08g5924b8624efcc85a.jpg

    The justification for this simplification is exactly the expectation that the driver knows the default speed limit.
     
  15. SpudLime

    SpudLime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    Chantilly, Va (Loudoun)
    I see your point. However as someone who does work for Waze, I would not be surprised if the vast majority of them have been updated. The large world of map editors is the main reason Google bought Waze. Its almost like a cult following.
     
  16. MathijsKok

    MathijsKok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    France
    Sure Waze has the correct information but it is a pain in the neck to have to adapt the speed EVERY single time you activate the autopilot. And every time you drive through a small village you end up going too fast when you exit it. Read somewhere that French users are planning to ask Tesla to pay the fines and to be honest, after this being an issue for months that starts to sound reasonable.

    Waze is fine, but it does not tell my car how fast it can go.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. fren

    fren Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    france
    this sign is to end the previous limit and go back to default speed limit( so previous sign , or 80Km/h, recognised by the car as 90) but sometimes the car uses gps and not signs. so 90 instead of 80 :(
     
  18. anonymouse

    anonymouse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    I got a response from the "escalate" facility on my Tesla account:
    "Our Engineering team ... confirmed with us that they have built a new map containing the updated speed limits which is undergoing testing to ensure the safest experience for our customers. The map will be updated once it has been signed off by the appropriate departments."

    That was a week ago, so presumably an update is coming "soon" (in the traditional Tesla time).
     
  19. MathijsKok

    MathijsKok Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    France
    Hey that's good news. but it has the smell of BS unfortunately. The database has no speed per section of road but per TYPE of road. And the type has now 90 KMh where it should be 80 KMh. That's why almost every nav system I know could switch the same date the the French switched the speed.

    Btw, the lower speed make good sense and it sure makes driving the Model S I got a lot cooler. I can now do road in auto mode that could not be done at 90 KMh.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC