TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Speedo... Instrument panel dead / blank

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by drsaab, Feb 5, 2015.

  1. drsaab

    drsaab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    VA
    In my loaner the instrument panel is dead / blank. It did not reset with either Steering wheel reboots. Car drives fine. 50k vin pre autopilot. Pic attached.

    Anyone have this issue before? never seen it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PV4EV

    PV4EV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Area 51 / UK

    Yup ! ... also a loan car, P85+

    Screen would come on a bright'ish mess, or completely off. Rest of the car continued to behave as expected.

    Resetting with scroll wheel buttons or powering off the car does not change it.

    Tesla service UK said they'd not seen this fault before and replaced the instrument cluster screen to fix it.

    2015  01  15  speedo display problems for TMC.jpg
     
  3. drsaab

    drsaab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    VA
    This was also a p85+ , I'm guessing built around aug/Sept 2014 since pre autopilot.
     
  4. PV4EV

    PV4EV Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Area 51 / UK
    Yes, August 2014.

    Also, Tesla service said the software was "7 revisions" out of date, although the car has just gone back so I cant confirm exactly.
     
  5. TomL

    TomL Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Vadnais Hts, MN
    For me this would result in a speeding ticket!
     
  6. LineofSight

    LineofSight Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Florida
    My instrument panel died today. I did a reboot. Did nothing. The driver's screen was totally blacked out, no flickering lights on it. Nothing. I checked the owner's manual for a fuse and found fuse 49 in fuse box 2. I pulled it and it was blown. It is a 5 amp fuse. I looked for another 5 amp fuse and found fuse 47 in fuse box 2. That powers the glove box light and the OBD-II. I put that fuse into spot 49 and it blew immediately, even with the car doors closed and the screens un-powered.
    I called service and they could not see anything in the logs so they have set me up for a flatbed tow to Orlando tomorrow. I'll let you know what they find.
     
  7. MsElectric

    MsElectric Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,611
    Location:
    New York
    Wow this would be great for speeding and going as fast as you want. If you get pulled over show them the blank speedometer display :)

    Sorry this happened to you. Is there a way to reboot the entire OS while the car is stopped rather than just the screen?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Wonder how much of a repair this would be out of warranty...
     
  8. XxCyberHackerxX

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    So I'm assuming the LCD failed? I also wonder how much that would cost out of warranty? That would be a nightmare for my wallet!
     
  9. Barry

    Barry Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    785
    Location:
    Colorado
    More likely to be a loose connector.
     
  10. LineofSight

    LineofSight Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Saint Johns, Florida
    My car was returned to me today. It was only gone for about 24 hours. The instrument panel was replaced with a remanufactured panel. Looks great. The usual superior Tesla service. My car was washed and vacuumed upon return. I only had to pay the $100 Ranger service fee since they had to come to my house in Jacksonville and flatbed my car to Orland for repair. They loaned me a nice P85. It is definitely quicker than my S85. They also installed software 6.2 2.4.213. I was using 2.4.188.
     
  11. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Canada
    For this reason, it might be nice-to-have a redundant speed indication on the centre console top row...


    Also, dash display goes dark if you don't pay your cable bill on time.
    Not to worry, everything is still there on the display, ...you just can't see it.
    Things like signals are actually signaling on the outside of the car, where it matters.

    Displays are for silly users who like to know things, but are totally optional for driving the car.

    Like the interior rear view mirror... who uses that? Should be a delete option from the factory.
    That's what the camera button is for on the console. When it's operating.
     

Share This Page