Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Summer tires year-round in San Francisco

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I’m new to the idea of summer tires, I didn’t know there was such a huge difference in braking performance. It would seem to be a good idea to capture that performance, but I don’t want the hassle of swapping tires/wheels. Winter lows seldom get into the 30s, but it does happen. Do any of you use summer tires year-round in SF?

I’m in SF. If my M3P was my only car I would probably look into all season tires for part of the year if you travel out of the Bay Area towards any snow prone destinations. Or just run performance tires and rent a model X on Getaround when you want to go to Tahoe, etc.

Right, I should have added that I don’t ski anymore so I would never go to Tahoe in winter. Might drive to LA and the Grapevine can get cold, but I could always go 101. Taking my wife’s car is an option too.

I am hoping to hear from someone who is doing this and get some tips. Biggest question is how to handle any temps below 40 in SF itself. I live in a condo with underground parking and I figure the temp never goes below 50 in there. Thought the car could hide out if needed for a couple days while I find alternate transportation.

I've always driven summer tires in AZ, which certainly gets as cold as SF. I'm pretty sure my dad ran summers all year in Palo Alto. I've read they're not very good below 40 degrees or so, but I've never had a problem with them. It's not like I'm suddenly sliding around or shredding the tread mid-winter. I pushed them in any weather. I'd definitely think twice before heading up into the snow, but for simple cold weather I'll stick with the summer performance tires.