TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Supercharger Live Status

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by tbleakne, Feb 8, 2017.

  1. DHG.

    DHG. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Wait what?!? 35kw would take 3 hours to charge a 100D is that right?
     
  2. wcfinvader

    wcfinvader Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Aurora, NE
    Council Bluffs Supercharger indicated 2 bays available and yet we are the only one here charging.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. scottf200

    scottf200 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Chicagoland ModelX S603
    @wcfinvader , What does it show on the built-in Tesla map? Same? Did you call Telsa to see what they would say?
     
  4. oktane

    oktane Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    USA
    #264 oktane, Feb 14, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2017
    What if I was visiting friends in El Monte driving from the Bay area? I am already low at my destination, but enough to make it to Burbank. Do you think it's an efficient use of my time to backtrack 35 mins in traffic Southbound only to have to double-back through the same traffic again skipping Burbank? That's preposterous.

    Supercharging is already enough of a penalty vs. filling the gas tank. If I have to drive the opposite direction for 15 miles in SoCal, that is a huge negative.

    If locals use the SC (which is their right) then too bad, I shouldn't have to suffer because of it. Tesla needs to build more chargers. Maybe next time they won't be so wreck-less in promoting free-unlimited supercharging as a selling point if they have no desire to make good on their promise to everyone who purchased, including locals. Many people did buy a Tesla with the understanding they could afford it by saving gas and filling up regularly at the SC. I don't do this, but many people do and it's what they paid for.


    Yes, which is why that was my first and worst SC experience ever. I'm not buying into the value of SC over taking ICE. My time is just too valuable to dick around for 1 hour plus waiting to charge. Instead, I have leveraged the Tesla for local commute only to save me trips to the gas station by charging at home. A win for me and Tesla, -I save time by not going to the gas station and they don't have to pay for my road trips since SC is too slow and unreliable for my purposes.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  5. wolfson292

    wolfson292 Architect

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Florida
    Good suggestion.


    Thanks for the heads up. Probably something to do with adding and removing markers on updates. I will take a look.
     
  6. wolfson292

    wolfson292 Architect

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Florida
    I believe the memory leak is now fixed. Had some detached DOM objects.
     
    • Like x 1
  7. wk057

    wk057 Senior Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,892
    Location:
    Hickory, NC, USA
    #267 wk057, Feb 14, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2017
    Have gotten quite a few requests for access to the API I made for the live data. Will get to them, but have been busy.

    Edit: On a side note, I'm not sure the misinformation from the data (like the in-car nav showing far more stalls in use than really are) is completely intentional... but could be. Initially there was enough data to clarify the number of occupied stalls. Since they removed some of that data both the in-car nav and the data I'm collecting have to do some amount of estimating. And honestly, my data (and thus @wolfson292's map) is doing it a little better than the car right now as far as estimated available stalls. Hoping Tesla cleans up the data, but the in-car display does give the appearance that the network is more utilized than it actually is.... which may be what Tesla is going for, I don't know.
     
    • Informative x 5
  8. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,107
    Location:
    So Cal
    Jeez, one would think the reporting of stall availability would be a simple task. It's binary - either it's in use or it isn't.
     
    • Like x 2
  9. bob_p

    bob_p Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,402
    Tesla should add a feature to the smartphone apps and/or console software to allow owners to report any discrepancies between the reported stall usage and actual usage.

    Tesla can't automatically detect if stalls are unusable because there is a parked car in the stall (not connected), something is blocking access to the stall, or there is a problem preventing the stall from being operational (such as a damaged connector).

    A while back, we hit a 6 stall location, that had construction equipment blocking 4 of the 6 stalls - and without manual reporting of the blockage, Tesla wouldn't have known about the problem - and the live status would be showing 4 of the 6 stalls were always available.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  10. Festerfeet

    Festerfeet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Chengdu, Sichuan,China
    Preferably with a way to add a photo of the problem.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  11. Missile Toad

    Missile Toad Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Houston
    @bob_p if I recall correctly, the blockage(s) had happened at a site at a hotel. I'll bet, the hotel staff have little idea what is happening at the Superchargers -- and tend to be desk-bound 99% of the time. Accordingly, there ought to be an app that at least alerts a specific hotel that a problem is emerging... I don't think this is solved by just email or text messaging alone to the front desk. Or maybe Tesla ought to spring for a closed-circuit TV loop to give coverage for the space for the front desk?
     
  12. Jonas_man

    Jonas_man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Helsinki
    Awesome! Keep us posted. I can jump right in with the ios app
     
  13. Jonas_man

    Jonas_man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Helsinki
    If tesla isnt able to report the supercharger usage correctly, i wonder if they can start charging ppl for usage.
    We don't know anyone that passed his/her 400kWh per year right?
     
  14. pjw65

    pjw65 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Switzerland
    For eurpopean users you can use Supercharger Belegung it's faster and works good in the tesla car.
    It also includes DE/AT/CH Stall-Error and general problems (grey pins).

    Update every 10 minuts, errors every hour.

    Number = free stalls
    green : > 50% free (full power charge possible)
    yellow : power divided
    red : <= 25% free
    grey: stall problems (click on it for details)

    click on pins for details.


    Does anyone knows of other data about stall problems in europe I could also include?

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like x 1
  15. wcfinvader

    wcfinvader Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Aurora, NE
    If you look at my pictures you will see what I saw on the in-car map and we did not call tesla.
     
  16. MorrisonHiker

    MorrisonHiker S 90D 17.17.4

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,676
    Location:
    Colorado
    That's similar to what I saw in Denver on Saturday. It showed 5/6 in use but there was only one car there when I arrived. It continued to show 5 of 6 stalls in use the entire time but in reality, there were only 1-3 cars while I was tracking it.
     
  17. bxr140

    bxr140 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Conspiracy theory time!!!1!111

    What if some kind of charger hardware issue resulted in some low draw on a supercharger which triggers a 'current is flowing so the charger must be in use' message.

    And what if that hardware issue is related to the reduced charging rate phonomenon?

    :eek:
     
  18. wk057

    wk057 Senior Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,892
    Location:
    Hickory, NC, USA
    Yeah, that's one of the sites that seems to have misinformation. @wolfson292's site, using my interpretation of the data, is reporting it as at least 2 available with 2 more probably available, which is the best estimate based on what the internal data is giving to the car. I do hope Tesla cleans up the data.
     
  19. MorrisonHiker

    MorrisonHiker S 90D 17.17.4

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,676
    Location:
    Colorado
    Another one that is obviously wrong is Goodland, KS. It shows "0 of 6 stalls available (9 also possibly available)" but there are only 6 stalls there.
     
  20. wk057

    wk057 Senior Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,892
    Location:
    Hickory, NC, USA
    Yeah, the data for that one is actually completely broken. Stall data updated 7415 minutes ago, at 2017-02-10 10:50:03. I only have one data point for it, and it's just completely wrong.
     

Share This Page