Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Suspension review from an race enthusiast

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'll say right up front I'm not a professional driver but I did stay in a Holiday Inn last night (just kidding). Seriously though I've been racing vehicles for over 15 years now and have setup and tweaked suspension settings on a wide range of cars.

I love the Model 3's suspension so far. Whoever thinks it's jarring or too stiff must have extremely limited seat time in other sport-oriented cars. Other cars in our garage = 2017 MINI JCW Countryman, 2015 MINI Cooper on H&R coilovers, 2011 BMW 3 series sport wagon (going away), and my beloved Lotus Exige on Nitron double adjustible coilovers.

IMG_20171006_200643958.jpg
exige_sedona.jpg

I was blown away with the Model 3 taking it through my favorite twisty road last night. I was expecting it to be very similar to our 2011 sport wagon due to comparable weight and tire setups. The Model 3 blew it away and I was taking some of the corners close to the same speed that I rail the Lotus through there (granted I never really go above 7/10ths on the street).

So here's a quick comment to anyone who isn't happy with their Model 3's suspension... go take it on a seriously twisty road or a racetrack to appreciate why it's tuned how it is :)

IMG_20180413_182253.jpg

gtmotor, when was your car built? Most of the folks complaining had the cars bult pre12/27/2017 which apparently jad a "too firm" suspensions. Cars built after that date are a bit softer (and early owners are having their suspensions swapped for the later/softer setup).

gtmotor, when was your car built? Most of the folks complaining had the cars bult pre12/27/2017 which apparently jad a "too firm" suspensions. Cars built after that date are a bit softer (and early owners are having their suspensions swapped for the later/softer setup).