Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Suspension + Rough Road Question?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
D6041D74-CD06-42B8-B452-23C1B7022A21.jpeg
EE9EE2BB-531A-4D09-83AF-75C342F703D8.jpeg
Hi

Sorry for the probably dumb question, I'm not a very mechanically-minded woman :-/ I have a Model 3 Performance on order and was worrying about the suspension. I have a very rough road leading to my house (see pics for example). Broken pavement with small radius but pretty deep potholes and no way to avoid all. If I go slow will I be okay?

I'm sure the tires and rims will be fine going slow but more worried about the undulating and very uneven surface and if that will harm any of the sporty suspension components.

I would assume it is no different to going up and down high curbs and ridges onto driveways and parking lots when you turn off the road. But wanted to ask for to be safe.

Thx in advance.

The only "dumb question" is the unasked one!

Looking at your photos, I think you'd have to be doing Warp speed to hurt anything, and even that's not likely. None of the holes look large enough to damage a tire and or rim. That said, taking it slow will help limit interior rattles and squeaks from surfacing.

Enjoy your new ride... you're going to love it!

😎

View attachment 868945View attachment 868946Hi

Sorry for the probably dumb question, I'm not a very mechanically-minded woman :-/ I have a Model 3 Performance on order and was worrying about the suspension. I have a very rough road leading to my house (see pics for example). Broken pavement with small radius but pretty deep potholes and no way to avoid all. If I go slow will I be okay?

I'm sure the tires and rims will be fine going slow but more worried about the undulating and very uneven surface and if that will harm any of the sporty suspension components.