Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

TACC Follows WAY too closely - Even after getting FSD Beta

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a relatively conservative driver. I don't like to be closer than about 2 seconds behind the person in front of me and, after a defensive driving course, I'm just as happy 2 1/2 - 3 seconds behind.

In my 2017 MX (MCU2, AP 3.0 or "Full Self Driving Computer" as reported by the car) I have always found that TACC follows WAY too closely.

By my reckoning setting the follow distance to 1 gives maybe a half-second follow distance.
7 gives me anything from around 1 1/2 seconds to *maybe* 2 seconds on the highway. It's more aggressive on secondary streets.

I figured this would get sorted out when the FSD software was implemented since it was supposed to be used both on and off highways.

However I now have FSD and the follow distances are still the same.

I'm fine with 1 being so uber-aggressive, but I figure that by 3 or 4 we should be at a comfortable 2 seconds and 7 should be approaching 3 or 4 seconds behind.

IMHO, when you're closer than 2 seconds behind someone, you're pressuring them to go faster. I'm far happier letting other drivers drive at the speed they need to and staying a respectful distance behind them.

Does anybody else with a Model X find that their TACC follow distance is way too close?

I've been fine with the distances for years in my older MX. 6-7 for spacing out and 1-2 when I don't wanna get cut off alot at slower speeds.

What I noticed in my new MX which I assume is vision based, is it's VERY inconsistent. On same setting, say 5, it will go like 7-8 car lentgh and then at same speed get to like 3-4.

Not sure I'm getting it all but I've AP for 5 Years and never had issue with this so I'm thinking vision based has a bit harder time judging distances.