Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Taking the P3D+ to my first track event tomorrow - tips?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Nocturnal

Supporting Member
Aug 23, 2018
Deepening Crisis!
Have not raced on a road course before and certainly not with a 3. Anyone with experience have any tips?

I'm attending the Track Nights in America event at I70 speedway in Topeka. There is a supercharger not so far away that will get me topped off. Helmet and appropriate clothing is ready to go. I'm considering purchasing a track insurance policy as well. Looks like it will be $373. The only thing holding me back is that I'm sure I won't push it too hard...although I am a novice.

Last edited:
For whatever run group you're in, chat up other people. Find out who has experience at the location and ask to follow one of the more experience folks for a lap or two. In my experience, track folks are generally friendly about helping new people at a venue to learn the track -- it's in everyone's best interest for the run group to be safe.

Reactions: Jedi2155
If I can find my dang go-pro I'll try and shoot some video. Thanks for the tips guys, I found some videos of the track online which should help. I assume I'll be one of the first P3Ds to run this event, if not the first. I took delivery on August 17th and I was only #7 or 8 in the metro area at that point.

Edit, I did get the insurance. My general rule is to ensure for things that would be damaging to my financial health, plus I'll have more fun knowing that I'm covered if something crazy happens.

Last edited:
Don't be a hero, if you have to go off-track, keep the car going straight and slow down as much as possible. Trying to save it and getting into a slide on the grass or sand is a great way to flip over.

Not trying to frighten you though, have fun!