TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tapatalk and ads

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by dsm363, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Just updated to latest version of Tapatalk and it now has ads in inserted as a thread into the unread threads section. Trying to swipe it away as read doesn't work. I upgraded to the paid Tapatalk pro and they are atjll there. Just wanted to let people who use it and were going to accept the update know.
     
  2. DaveT

    DaveT Searcher of green pastures

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    San Diego
    Does anybody with Tapatalk notice that it sometimes skips entire pages? Often, I need to go to web view just to read them.
     
  3. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    I just started noticing that this week. I upgraded the app and it seems to be better.
     
  4. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    They went away? I have a Yahoo ad for Tesla parts as the first or second thread that I can't get rid of.
     
  5. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    Sorry, wasn't referring to the ads...I don't have ads, maybe I have a paid version of the app? I was referring to entire pages of threads missing.
     
  6. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    Aaaaahhhhhh!!!!! I spoke to soon! Now I have the ads...I see that Yahoo ad, I never saw it before upgrading just now!
     
  7. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    They did a secret update it seems that added ads to free and paid version. Wasn't listed in 'what's new' when I updated. I sent them an email but very shady. Especially since you can't even swipe the ad away.
     
  8. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    Funny but I did not see this on my iPad, which I updated a few days ago. I'll be sure not to update it again.
     
  9. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
    Yea I have the yahoo ads showing up. This is paid version. :(
     
  10. DaveT

    DaveT Searcher of green pastures

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    San Diego
    Arghh, I was not going to update my Tapatalk to avoid the ads. But it just auto updated and I have the paid version.
     
  11. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I bet they are making a lot of money from people updating to the paid version to avoid the ads they weren't warned about with the update only to find it had them too.
     
  12. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Looks like latest update to paid version at least removed the ad.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Nevermind. Ads are back after a second refresh.
     
  13. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Thanks for the warning. Just turned off updates for the app. Paid version on android...
     
  14. DaveT

    DaveT Searcher of green pastures

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    San Diego
    I'm not seeing ads anymore in my paid Tapatalk. How about y'all?
     
  15. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I still am. I wonder if it is some bug when upgrading from free version. I emailed them last week but no response.
     
  16. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Which version are you running? It's a bit of a pain to find out. Go back to the main screen (where you see the different forums). Then click on the three dots in the upper right corner. Then Settings. Then scroll all the way down to About.
    I'm on Tapatalk Pro 4.5.2 and definitely am not getting any adds.
     
  17. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I'll check but it is the latest version of Pro app from Apple App Store.

    Hmm, it says V2.6.2. Is that not the pro version? It says it is was when I downloaded it.
     
  18. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    I'm on Android, so this may be different on IOS - but it definitely says "Tapatalk Pro" for me
     
  19. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Mine doesn't say Pro on it but it definitively is the Pro version in terms of what the App Store says. Oh well. I really wish tapatalk would answer email or there was some our alternative.
     

Share This Page