Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Temperature UMC vs Wall Connector

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
My UMC gets incredibly hot when charging at 30-40 amps. Mainly the cable between the wall Plug and the UMC. It gets piping hot and from what I am hearing that is considered normal. Service center checked it and says that is normal. The Wiring Cable going to the 14/50 outlet only warms up very little and is AWG 6. Being an Electrical Engineer by trade I can't belive they get away with this and allow them to become so hot. In my days we would not have designed anything like this and would use a heavier gauge that dissipates the heat bettter. In any case, I had a house fire before which (what a coincidence) was caused by a Battery Charger (Dewalt Power Drill), I don't feel very good at going to bed and leave the car charging knowing the Temperatures in the equipment raise like this. Being a fire victim once which happened during lunchtime I certainly don't want that to happen at night while I am sleeping. If I charge overnight I usually dial down to 15 amps.

Does the Hardwired Wall connector become this hot as well or is this just a UMC issue ?

Is it actually hot at 30A, or did you set the amperage to something higher? I've definitely noticed the MC becomes hot when pulling 40A continuously, so I set it to 32A in the car and now it's barely even warm to the touch.

If the MC is "piping hot" at only 30A, then something is either wrong with it, or with your receptacle. I'm betting you could have some corrosion on the contacts in the receptacle which is causing high resistance and heating up that segment next to the wall plug.

You've already had one electrical-system house fire. Did they determine the fire started in the outlet, or in the drill charger? And just how old is this outlet where your MC is plugged in?