TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tesla App on Android slower than iOS?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by andrewket, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,042
    #1 andrewket, Oct 7, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2013
    I'm running firmware 4.5 on my MS. I recently switched back to Android from iOS. The Tesla app on iOS worked reliably, and connected to the car within a few seconds. I've noticed on android that it can take 20-30 seconds to connect, and in a few cases it hung completely. I've had to kill the app using the task manager and start over. I'm using a Samsung Galaxy S4. Connectivity on the phone is fine; all other apps and surfing are fast. It doesn't seem to matter if I'm using WiFi, 3G, or LTE.

    Anyone else using both platforms? Have you observed similar?

    Andrew
     
  2. justaddsun

    justaddsun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    DC
    Told you you should have gotten a One :p. Actually I often find that I have to back out out of the app and reopen it, then the red Tesla screen opens up and the app opens in 2-3 seconds. The reason for this is it may have still been open, but inactive, from a previous session (where I may have just pressed the home button to get out of the app) and when you reopen the Tesla app you're actually opening that previous inactive session (where you may see it continuously scrolling, but not open). Just my observations.
     
  3. anthony

    anthony Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Its obvious to me that they didn't take quite as much care with the android app.

    Using it on my wife's iphone was much better
    iphone shows a black roof and my android shows the white one (i have a black roof)
    it always takes approx 10-30 seconds to load, and sometimes the map is all messed up and doesn't display

    i'm running a galaxy nexus
     
  4. rdrcrmatt

    rdrcrmatt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    I too just switched from Android to iOS and noticed the same thing. The app is actually useful now.
     
  5. phat78boy

    phat78boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    The android app has a memory bug somewhere. Every time I open the app, I first bring up my recent programs and kill the application. Then, the app opens and connects quickly.

    If the app is still running in the background when you try to open it, it just hangs for a long time.
     
  6. Puyallup Bill

    Puyallup Bill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Puyallup WA
    Interesting. I run the app on an iPad and a low end LG phone. Seem to run at the same speed. My car is green and the Android car is green and the charge port ring is illuminated green - car is not charging. The iPad car is black and the charge port ring is dark.
     
  7. Kraken

    Kraken Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    Voltageville, CA
    I've noticed the same on 3 different android devices (all htc).
     
  8. BillShepp

    BillShepp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Los Altos, California, United States
    I also fairly frequently find I need to kill the app on Android before it'll connect. Also the location tab updates much more fluidly on iOS when the car is traveling, on Android it updates every 5-10 seconds, less than 1 second on iOS.
     
  9. WhiteP85

    WhiteP85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    My Galaxy S3 has the same issues. Map screen gets corrupted and has trouble connecting reliably. I have to kill it or reboot. My wife's iPhone works as expected. I hope they are working on fixing the bugs. It is not as if this is an issue on an old Android release or on obscure devices.
     
  10. dsmith2189

    dsmith2189 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    I have HTC also. If my application does not connect in 1-2 seconds, I know that it will just spin for a long time. I just quit and restart. it then connects right away. once running it is responsive.
     
  11. TechGuy

    TechGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I know this thread is from a year ago... but I just got my Model S and have noticed exactly the same thing. Has anyone discovered any solutions to this, other than closing the application and opening it again? Works fine from Apple devices.
     
  12. MrSchultz

    MrSchultz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    2016 and the Android app is still unbelievable slow to connect. Usually I need to kill the app and start it again to connect. Not cool Tesla! Fix it!
     
  13. zambono

    zambono Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    DC
    Cause Android lol, had too sorry
     
  14. TechGuy

    TechGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It's really a shame. I sent Elon a tweet recently, but doubt that anything will come of it. Very frustrating. I'm hopeful that some third party will build another app one day.

    Twitter
     
  15. jcadman22

    jcadman22 MD: DRK NRG

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    317
    I've found that switching between tabs/functions pretty consistently wakes things up in the Android app.
     
  16. Pluto

    Pluto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    US
    I hate how slow the Android app is too, but when you open it, try waiting 5 seconds, pressing the home button, then opening the app again. I've found this to work pretty well (still it's only a workaround). And I never need to close/start up the app again by doing this.
     
  17. supratachophobia

    supratachophobia Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,968
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Yes, the Android app has some room for improvement. What you describe has generally been par for the course for me.
     
  18. Alex D

    Alex D Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Lake Worth, FL
    Check out the Energi app for Android. It's linked to here in the forums somewhere. It connects a lot faster than the official Android app.
     
  19. supratachophobia

    supratachophobia Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,968
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I believe that one cost money, just FYI.
     
  20. TechGuy

    TechGuy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'd be very happy to pay for a working app. Does anyone have a link? I can only find the iOS version.
     

Share This Page