TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tesla App still gives alerts even though not logged in?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by st50maint, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. st50maint

    st50maint Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    New York
    About 4 months ago I gave my Tesla log in information to a friend so he could track me on my trip to visit him.
    After the visit I changed my Tesla password to maintain my privacy.
    He can no longer log into the Tesla App but he still gets alerts such as when charging has started.
    Why is this happening and how can I stop it?
     
  2. .andrew

    .andrew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Have him delete the app?
     
  3. st50maint

    st50maint Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    New York
    #3 st50maint, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016
    I hinted at that but he did not do it.
    He seems to get a kick out of it and I did not want to force the issue since it is not that big a deal.
    I am more curious as to why it still alerts.
     
  4. .andrew

    .andrew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Fun.

    Maybe if you turn off mobile access from within the Tesla center console settings?
     
  5. .andrew

    .andrew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Gilroy, CA
    Obviously not forever, but maybe toggling it off and on will break the notifications from going through.

    You can verify by signing out of the app on your phone and seeing if the charge alerts persist after you disable mobile access
     
  6. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    A good example of why not to give out Tesla login information to anyone.
     
  7. AWDtsla

    AWDtsla Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    NE
    It's Tesla's bug.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Not really relevant here. This is just bad security, changing your password should disable the notifications. It means if someone gets your password through less legitimate means there isn't a way to stop the notifications to them.
     
  8. AllenWong

    AllenWong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    This is lazy coding on Tesla's part. Notifications come from a notification server, and you must register your device to receive messages from it (usually when you first start the app and it asks if you want to receive push notifications). There's no login needed to receive notifications after you click OK to that. The notifications will go to whichever device is registered to receive it.

    When the app gets signed out because the password change, it should have unregistered the device from receiving the notifications server. Unfortunately because the app and notification server didn't do that, he will always get the notifications no matter what until he deletes the app from his device. There's really not much you can do about that. Tesla theoretically can do something about it and go into their notifications server and manually unregister your friend's device from it. If you do ask them to do that, you might want to warn them about this bug while you're at it.
     

Share This Page