TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Tesla App without Powerwall

Discussion in 'Tesla Energy' started by 3laine, Jun 26, 2018.

  1. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    My electric company just turned on my Tesla PV system yesterday, and the actual Tesla app seems to be working, immediately, despite having no Powerwall (screenshot below).

    Both my sales adviser and the person I talked to on the activation hotline seemed surprised that the Tesla app is working for me.

    A couple questions: Does the Tesla app work for anybody else, yet, who only have Solar and no Powerwall? If so, do the "Impact" and "Energy Usage" tabs work for you? Mine both say "no data" or similar, which is why I called the activation hotline.

    Thanks, all!

    TeslaApp.PNG
     
    • Informative x 1
  2. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    5,385
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Okay, so, shouldn’t it work? I would assume the gateway would show you the power going to the house and the rest to the grid, as you have above. Have people said it doesn’t work ever without PWs?
     
  3. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Well, at least according to my salesman and the person I talked to on the activation hotline, both were surprised that the Tesla app worked for me at all. My salesman said this is the first time he's seen the Tesla app work for solar only. He asked me to send a screenshot to prove it haha.

    Apparently, up until this point, Solar customers used the MySolarCity app/website. The activation hotline indicated that Tesla is working on merging the two but was surprised it worked for me already.

    Again, just relaying what I'm hearing and was wondering if anybody else without PW has seen the Tesla app working. Also, once the system is officially "activated", does the usage info/graph show up in the Telsa app, or will I need to still look at the MySolarCity stuff? It may be in sortof a transitional state where both sorta work. Or maybe it's like the powerwall owners who have seen software updates happen in a staggered rather than all-at-once manner.
     
  4. Shygar

    Shygar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    They must have installed a Neurio in your system as the standard SolarCity install doesn't measure the home usage but it's there in your graph.

    In our rental house we have SolarCity without a powerwall and I manually installed a Neurio so I could get this info.
     
  5. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah, they definitely installed the Neurio PB1.5SC. The SolarCity Powerguide site shows usage, though, right?
     
  6. Shygar

    Shygar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    Nope, definitely does not. Just shows solar production.
     
  7. 5yJeff

    5yJeff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Mine shows grid/home with the solar not "connected" yet. Our system has been installed but not activated by the power company yet. We have a powerwall on order but it's gonna take a while.
     
  8. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Interesting... mine doesn't work, yet, so I can't look, but I assumed it would be like what's shown in this article:

    SolarCity Introduces Unique Solar Customer App −

    That shows the MySolarCity app giving and even breaking down your home's usage. Does it not do any of that? Or maybe some installs have it and some don't?
     
  9. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for replying! So, does it show your home usage, then? Or no?

    Do you have any info on the "Energy Usage" tab?
     
  10. Shygar

    Shygar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    This is what mine looks like. Maybe because I have a powerwall? I can check my wife's app tonight but there's really no hardware installed to even measure it, just the box connected to ethernet that communicates with the inverter.

    Screenshot_20180628-135256_MySolarCity.jpg
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    I see. There are obviously a lot of variations of systems Tesla has installed.
     
  12. 5yJeff

    5yJeff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Shows current home usage, nothing historical at this point.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks. I assume you have the Neurio Powerblaster in your panel, too, then?

    Presumably, the Neurio gives a current usage number that can be seen on the app, but someone (Tesla) would have to be capturing that info in order to have historical info. Hopefully, once the system is officially "activated" by Tesla (it's been providing power since Monday), I'll have historical info.
     
  14. digitalboi

    digitalboi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    How do you k ow if you have Meurio installed or not? We just got our system installed yesterday so it has not been inspected or turned on but the guys said we would be able to see all our usage and production details... when I try to login to the Tesla app it doesn’t recognize my logins but they work on the SolarCity app...
     
  15. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    If you have the Neurio, they give you a little box (4"x4", 1" tall, black) that you have to plug into your router and an outlet. Also, in my electrical panel, one of the breakers has a red label that says "Powerblaster" on it, now.
     
  16. 5yJeff

    5yJeff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    yes, they did indicate that I had a Powerblaster installed.
     
    • Like x 1
  17. arctec1

    arctec1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    The District
    Just checked and noticed that my Tesla App can now read my Tesla Solar output. I don't have a power wall. Now I need to see if I can get an neurio energy monitor installed to see the energy usage.
    Screenshot_20180727-200504.png Screenshot_20180727-200159.png
     
    • Like x 1
  18. 3laine

    3laine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Finally got Tesla to "activate" the system on their end so I could see usage other than instantaneous:

    unnamed.png
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC