TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Tesla app won't work correctly

Discussion in 'Model X' started by jdexter, Jul 16, 2018.

1. jdexter

jdexter Member

I have been using my tesla app without a problem for about 6 months. Everything on it works except for the ability to drive without the key. For whatever reason, tesla could never get this function working. Now for the past few months, I can no longer unlock the car with the app. It will lock, control the AC, honk, flash lights. Summon is intermittently working... I have tried resetting the car, new firmware, deleting the app, logging in and out, resetting password. The same is true on my wife's phone as well so its not just my phone. Tesla is working on it, but noone has had an answer. Anyone else with similar experience?

2. P85_DA

P85_DA Supporting Member

:oops:Would help if u list phone type , version of Tesla app , version of car firmware ...but no I have not had this issue on iPhone X and 24.1 FW

• Like x 1
  3. gde_eu

gde_eu Member

Do you have a good network ? The "summon is intermittently working" make me wondering if it's not a communication problem. Indeed, summon constantly communicate between the phone/the car/the mothership and if the connexion is not good anywhere on the line, everything is stopped.

If your connection is good on the phone side, it can be the car. Do the connexion work well in the car itself ?

For me it work 99% of the time but I don't use the "drive without key" very much. (When it doesn't work it a coverage issue or a temporary break down on the Tesla servers side). Drive without key is sensitive so it may have the same level of security as summon, so any doubt (bad communication) mean "cancel".

4. jdexter

jdexter Member