Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla Inverter + Neurio

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello everyone! I tried searching through the forums first but could not find anything that seemed to directly relate to what I was looking for. If this has already been discussed I am very sorry....

Hopefully my first post doesn't get buried, but I was hoping to find out some information about the new Tesla Inverter + a Neurio that was installed this past week when I received Solar. I don't have PTO yet so I can't verify any of this but I was hoping someone here has some experience. I would have asked the tech but at the time I didn't understand what he was showing me. I did not buy a Powerwall as it is not really necessary in my area/for my situation, however I can see that a Neurio was installed in my breaker panel box. It only has one CT connected and I'm no electrician so I am not sure what the line it is connected to is called, but it is connected around one of the two main lines from my utility company that come in to the box.

1) I am assuming this is some way to help them determine the solar production of the system.
2) I assume this also means I do not have the full monitoring that others have where they can see usage by their home, what is being used/fed into the grid, as well as solar production.

I am unsure of #2 due to the fact that it's the new Tesla Inverter and I am unsure what that inverter itself monitors. Also because I don't have PTO quite yet.

That said, if 1 and 2 are indeed correct, does anyone know if it is possible to get additional CTs and potentially set up my Tesla Inverter to monitor that data as well? I assume this is what is being done when a Powerwall is in the loop and as such I would assume it is just some settings that may be changeable when connecting to the Tesla Inverter via it's Web UI.